We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time Machine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heising

Heising
Rankestrasse 32, Berlin, Germany
030-2133952
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5,667 restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Bergen, Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Time Machine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Mrs. Heising opens the front door for us and escorts us into her dining room. It was as if pressing the door bell opened a portal to another era of fine dining. It felt as if we were 30 years back in time.

Mr. Heising is 80, he is proud to say. Sometimes his daughter helps in service but today is quiet and they manage the 10 tables themselves. The food is über-french every day. Frog legs in cream sauce with parsley & Burgundian snails in garlic. Bresse chicken in truffle jus and Deer filet with a thick - believe it or not - Roux-based sauce.

Mr. Heising does the wines. It's not a wine list per se, it's a list of wines Mr. Heising finds appropriate. He recommends champagne with the frog legs, Riesling with the snails and a bottle of '06 Haut-Medoc for everything else. It's a that sort of establishment, and I would feel out of place drinking anything other than Bordeaux with my main course.

The Heising restaurant is far from only a restaurant. It's a trip back in time. Mr. Heising is sometimes still there as he snaps his fingers to the rhythm of the 1930's. Throwing in the occasional dance step after the plates are presented, with Mrs. Heising shaking her head in disbelief.

That's how they roll Heising-style.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    376
    46
    13
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Berlin experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Heising is like marmite. You either get it or you don't. For us, we had the most wonderful evening. From ringing on the door bell and being let inside, it is like stepping back in time.... To a time when meals were unrushed, tables were spaced apart and service was the height of courtesy.
We had foie gras and scallops to start, venison and lamb for main, and crepes suzette and Irish chocolate mousse for desert. All classic French cuisine. Don't go looking for anything modern here, but if you want to submerge yourself in an experience as it would have been in years past, then this is the place to go. No credit cards accepted, so be prepared with cash. 3 courses, 2 glasses white and a bottle red, 150 euros. Best meal in a long time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Delightful & delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We chose to visit Heising whilst on our first visit to Berlin as it was No 1 restaurant on TA and the reviews were excellent.
On arrival we were greeted by Frau & Herr Heising, who took our coats and showed us to our table. I was initially slightly disappointed with this as we were not in the main dining room but in the outer room, which houses the wardrobe for the coats and it was slightly chilly.
However the decor is lovely, with watermarked silk wallpaper and a baroque style with lovely antique tables & chairs, fresh roses, candles in sliver candlesticks and beautiful golassware and porcelain tableware.
We were given menus & winelist and brought bread, butter & warm canapes. We chose foie gras, scallops for starter, venison & lamb for main course & a beautiful dessert of tiramisu mousse with chocolate sauce & macaroon. Herr Heising agreed with our chose of wine which was something different - a German Cabernet Sauvignon from Rheinheissen. We also ordered a bottle of sparkling water.
There was another table with 2 diners next to us and later a larger party of 8 were seated in the room.This helped the ambiance, which I felt was slightly lacking compared to the main dining room.
The food was magnificent - both in flavour & presentation but on a minor note we did have to wait at least 30 mins between courses. In fact we waited 45 mins for our dessert. Herr Heising was most apologetic about this and gave us 2 glasses of dessert wine by way of an apology, saying they were very busy (it was a Saturday night). There was a minor mistake with the bill, which I had to point out but this was swiftly rectified.
For myself I would have like a side dish of seasonal vegetable with my main course of lamb but that is purely personal.
Heising deserves it's reputation as No 1 restaurant in Berlin - the Heisings are a delighful couple who obviously enjoy seeing their customers satisfied - - long may it continue - they've been doing it for 34 years so far!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Like stepping back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Magical evening here, it's like stepping back in time, we were welcomed with sherry by the fire to warm up, had a gorgeous dinner (which you can see on their website in english). Scallops were fantastic, oysters, awesome, fish, fab, cheese, lovely. The waiter who, bless him, had a few issues with our camera phone, was just lovely, about the age of my grandfather (if he was still alive!), but so helpful with the wine etc. Go here and enjoy being transported back to another time and place but eating the most lovely food. Do it!!! (if only for the amazing handmade chocolates at the end!)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Just wonderful, wonderful, wanderbar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I don't really like French food so the 5* should say it all! The rating is because of the wonderful owners and the service let alone the delightful ambience and exquisite food. The owners are just so sincere and at their age it is clearly a love and a passion to serve such outstanding cuisine. Forget your curry wurst experience just treat yourself and come here you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heising also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 
Berlin, Germany

Been to Heising? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heising, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.