We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere with a lively ambiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cassambalis Taverna

Cassambalis Taverna
Grolmanstr. 35, Berlin, Germany
030-8854747
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #758 of 5,975 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere with a lively ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were tired after a long day of driving and Cassambalis was next to our hotel, and the hotel owner managed to get reservations for us. It was not touristy and the wait staff very professional.

There was a large salad/appetizer buffet, where your plate was weighed and you were free to choose among many different dishes. It was a beautiful display and looked very appetizing.

The menu was not extensive, but had a good selection of dishes. There were 4 of us and we were all quite pleased with our meals.

We would have come back another night for dinner, but with so many wonderful choices, we opted to try something different. I will definitely eat here again, on my next visit to Berlin.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    37
    20
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Trendy in a serious kind of way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Terrific choices of seafood and meat in a very central location (apparently Angela Merkel can show up once in a while) with lots of terrific art. Can be noisy.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ebeltoft
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fascinating rooms but a very bad kitchen.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We felt very lucky to get a table in this cosy restaurant and ordred fish soup and pasta with seafood.
Both dishes vere uneatable. It was so spicy that you couldnot taste anything and your mouth was on fire. The waiter never asked if the food were okay and to hear if we were satisfied. Maybe he knew the chef vere a bad cook.
We lost the good feeling and will never be back.
A very expensive experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thessaloniki
1 review
“Worth tasting..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very beautiful artistic atmosphere, great food and more that satisfactory wine list!
Entering it, you just want to taste everything.. in this Greenaway-like scenery..

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good place to spend an evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Cassambalis is a very nice place to spend an evening. Food, ambiance and service is very good. The art on the walls is just great. Good value for money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cassambalis Taverna also viewed

Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Cassambalis Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cassambalis Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.