We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night to remember!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hafis

Hafis
Alt-moabit 47, 10555 Berlin, Germany (Moabit)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,258 of 6,035 Restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $14 - $20
Cuisines: Persian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Moabit
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A night to remember!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Very friendly staff,great hospitality and delicious Persian food.If you are craving a nice home made like Iranian dish,this is the place to go..Will definitely go back there:)

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC food, home-made style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

one of the best, if not the best place to eat Persian food in Berlin. Not just for people who want to try Persian food for the first time, but all Iranians living away from family and just crave some really good home made food!!!!!

Very GOOD!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Delicious food and nice ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

If you want to enjoy amazing Persian food in Berlin, this place should be on top of the list. Delicious food, nice atmosphere and very good service makes this place a must visit, specially if you are somewhere near the alt-moabit area! For drinks, don't miss 'Dugh', which is similar to Ayran ( famous Turkish joghurt drink ), which is an amazingly refreshing drink and a thirst quencher!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“This is a PERSIAN restaurant! Not Pakistani.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

They have great dishes for reasonable prices.
The best thing I like about Hafis is their Sunday Brunches.
A buffet breakfast including two rice dishes serving as lunch, plus desserts. Drinks included (proper Samavar tea, coffee, juice) and the price is 10 euros.
Very reasonable!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best lamb ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

I had my first lamb at a street vendor's as a kebab in Uzbekistan. In the past years I always hoped to get back or find a place where there is lamb that good. I found it last week: Restaurant Hafis in Berlin. Acually, I found it by coincidence, because I live 5 min from there but always take a different route to my home.
During summer one sits on the porch. I did not like that there is quite a bit traffic. The table was dirty from the street dust and I had to ask to have it cleaned. The waiter did not do the pro-actively. I was doubtful. We had a delicious starter platter for two (EUR 10) and then lamb on a skewer. It consisted of 5 lamb loins each curled together to fit on the skewer, with veggies between each one. The lamb was perfectly tender. NO sweet taste whatsoever of mutton. The most juicy, perfectly grilled lamb ever - like in Uzbekisten. It was served with loads of excellent fluffy rice and salad (onion, basil, radish, lettuce, mint). I will definitely be back!
By the way, there were many Persians around at other tables. So it must be good ;-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hafis also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Hafis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hafis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.