We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good coffee, cheap and cheerful food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Weinerei

Weinerei
Fehrbelliner Strasse 57, Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,690 of 6,290 Restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Mitte
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Good coffee, cheap and cheerful food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

As a visitor to Berlin, friends who live here introduced me to Weinerei - both the cafe on the corner of Veteran Strasse and the Wine Bar at the other location. I've been several times and have only had good experiences. Where else in Berlin can you drink coffee for 1 Euro? At the cafe, the coffee is always good as are the cakes. They usually have soup which is also nice. At the wine bar I have found the service really nice and no issues about paying for the wine.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    11
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Go for wine, not for food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We expected that the Weinerei Forum had food served, but upon arrival we heard that food was only available late (20:30) and it sounded rather simple.
Only go for wine at this place - which we didn't do as we don't drink alcohol.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco and London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Such a unique place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

This wine bar is truly unique. Basically the deal is you arrive, pay €2 cover, and then eat and drink what you like. Then, when you depart, you pay what you think you owe for the food and drinks. Total honour system here. There are actually 2 locations in the Mitte area, Perlin and Forum. We went to Perlin on this trip, its smaller and more intimate, and we visited Forum last August which is a bigger location with multiple rooms/areas. Both locations are similar in their eclectic decor and the pricing set up. We heard that at Forum you can also purchase bottles to take home with you. Food is good, wine is good, and you'll have a 100% unique experience. Worth popping in for an hour or a few hours to sample your way through the wine offerings.

http://www.weinerei.com/perlin/
http://www.weinerei.com/forum/
Veteranenstr. 14 Berlin

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Found this place by coincidence. Nice...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2009

Found this place by coincidence. Nice owners who are happy to explain 'the concept' very Berlin type of place.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cozy and greatest concept ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

If you love wine, "cozy-arty"-places and cool people you've to go to Weinerei. The concept is that you pay 1 euro, and then drink and eat as much as you like, then you pay what you think it's worth. It's working as it should, because people like it so much so they want to pay a reasonible price (often even more).

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Weinerei also viewed

 

Been to Weinerei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Weinerei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.