We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pleasent stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel City Ost

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel City Ost to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel City Ost
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Frankfurter Allee 57-59, 10247 Berlin, Germany (Friedrichshain)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 30%
Ranked #146 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice pleasent stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A good hotel , had a pleasant stay friendly staff . The only point of criticism is that the wifi connection in my room was very minimal and at certain moments not available. Next to the U-bahn ideal for exploring the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City-Ost, Leiter Front Office at BEST WESTERN Hotel City Ost, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for taking your time to tell us about your experience in our hotel.
We appreciate our customer’s comments because they help us to improve our service.

Best regards
S.Schnitt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    386
    84
    13
    5
See reviews for
60
403
57
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The nearest metro station is just outside the hotel entrance, quite convenient and rooms are nice and clean, except the WIFI rest is good. The staff was also helpful, quite ok for the price. They do sell the berlin welcome card

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City-Ost, Leiter Front Office at BEST WESTERN Hotel City Ost, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Arif J,

thank you very much for your nice feedback.
We hope to welcome you again next time.

Best wishes,

Kevin Koriath
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

But you don't come to Berlin to stay at your hotel room. Nearest metro station is just outside the entrance, so the hole city is in your fingertips! And when you return, there are enough nice and affordable restaurants to serve you a decent meal.

But if WiFi is important to you, go somewhere else. When I stayed, wifi was not available in the room at least three times. The only option was to go downstairs to lobby, but you don't feel conformable checking anything personal having stranger's around you.

I complained about this to reception, but they replied that the owner has been informed and he's not willing to take any action. Couldn't believe, because it can't be about the cost!

Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City-Ost, Leiter Front Office at BEST WESTERN Hotel City Ost, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Jartsam,

thanks for your recommend. We do apologize the inconvenient with our WIFI,
please be sure that we are working on it to fix the problem as soon as we can.

Kind regards,

Kevin Koriath
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I got 5 days here on a last minute deal for pretty cheap. Starting with the positives:

- Great location; nearest U Bahn was metres from the front door
- Reception staff very friendly and helpful

Negatives:


- The Wifi!! Like everyone has said, it is absolutely horrendous. We relied on it heavily to be able to get around, find things to do, check for restaurants we wanted to eat at, and it was just impossible to do this from the room. We were only on the second floor too.
- The aircon/fan was broken, so it was always on 30 degrees heat even when turned off! It was on a level platform with outside, so we didn't feel comfortable sleeping with the window open (which was big and you could fit a car through)
- We had two, separately made single beds (with two separate single duvets) pushed together to make our double. I did question this with reception who, after some debate and translation with colleagues, assured me that this was standard across the hotel, which I found to be odd.
- The beds were super uncomfortable, so we didn't get any quality of sleep for the duration of out stay
- One day, we woke up late and housekeeping came around; they knocked and I answered the door in my towel - I couldn't speak any German unfortunately, so I was trying to ask her to come back in 10-20 minutes. However, it didn't seem to translate very well, because she came in and changed the bin and brought new towels - which I was very grateful for, but by boyfriend was still in bed with no clothes on, so it was a bit awkward.

We gave breakfast a miss, because it was €10 each per morning, which I thought was a bit steep.

Overall, very average, but will do nicely if your expectations are set correctly.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City-Ost, Leiter Front Office at BEST WESTERN Hotel City Ost, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Holly,

thank you for your feedback and the time you have spent for.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Kind regards,

Kevin Koriath
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This hotel is located at u bahn station but also within walking distance of Alexander Square. Great value for money. Clean, friendly and efficient operation. This is indeed recommended if you are in a budget. Great wifi in my room on floor six. Quiet and bed soo comfortable. Lots of shops cafes and pubs nearby.

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City-Ost, Leiter Front Office at BEST WESTERN Hotel City Ost, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear OBCLAN2,

thank you very much for your nice recommendation.

Best wishes,

Kevin Koriath
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife, PE
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

The hotel is very good, very clean, with a great staff, but too expensive for me. It´s right in front of the subway, not close to the city center, but in a calm neighborhood, with supermarket, drugstore and a few restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City-Ost, Leiter Front Office at BEST WESTERN Hotel City Ost, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Carolina_Ramalho,

thank you very much for your friendly feedback.

Best regards,

Kevin Koriath
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Stayed for 5 nights with my partner for his birthday. Very welcoming receptionist and all staff that we came into contact with were alwayas friendly and very helpfull. Room was well presented although the carpet could do with replacing as quite worn in places. It would have been nice to have a mirror over the desk in the room so I could sit and do my hair etc. but that is just a personal thing. Like a previous review I was unable to connect to the wifi in the room at any time during our stay but could use hotel pcs in reception. We did not have breakfast in the hotel as we chose to go out and try different places each day and there are plenty to chose from close to the hotel or a few minutes train ride into the centre. With a U-bahn station right outside the hotel made it very easy to travel to other locations in Berlin and the transport system is excellent. In summary, very good value for what we paid and a good location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the main road at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City-Ost, Leiter Front Office at BEST WESTERN Hotel City Ost, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear sunnyhunny2010,

thanks for your great feedback. We hope you have had some pretty days in Berlin and we hope to see you again next time.

Best wishes,

Kevin Koriath
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel City Ost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel City Ost

Address: Frankfurter Allee 57-59, 10247 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#123 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#126 Family Hotel in Berlin
#128 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel City Ost 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel City Ost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western City Ost
Best Western Berlin
Berlin Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel City Ost, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.