We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay at Hotel City Ost” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel City Ost

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel City Ost to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel City Ost
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Frankfurter Allee 57-59 | 10247 Berlin, 10247 Berlin, Germany (Friedrichshain)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #214 of 667 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice stay at Hotel City Ost”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Clean and comfortable room. Friendly staff. Free wifi. Nothing fancy, but just right for us. Shower works well. Mini fridge in the room. Somewhat small room as expected. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaintsFan1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

A decent no-frills hotel. Rooms are small, but very clean and contain everything you need. No real public areas - the receptionist doubles as the barman - but with the range of bars in the local area that is not a problem. Staff are all very friendly and helpful, and also very knowledgeable about how to get around and what to see. The location is ideal for access to the transport system with a U-bahn stop right outside the door and the S-bahn a couple of hundred yards away. There is a supermarket pretty much next door and a new shopping centre just down the road. If what you are looking for is a base of operations which you will use just for sleeping in, this is pretty much ideal.

Room Tip: The back looks over a building site, the front onto the main road; take your pick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Good situation near U- bahn, few small shops nearby to get refreshments, nice bars in a walking distance. We didn't try the breakfast in the hotel, so I can't say anything about it. Room was pretty much basic, very clean and the bed was comfortable (liked the big pillows :). I noticed many visitors have complained about wifi especially in the upper floors, but we stayed in the 6th floor and had no trouble with it at all. Staff was friendly and we got all the help we needed. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mahpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a very functional hotal that gives great value for your money. I've been at this hotel 2 years ago and I returned to it again this year.

For your money you will get an exceptionally clean room (well done guys!) with a reasonable room size, This hotel gives you the basics of what you want from an hotel no more no less and does it well.
The location a bit outside the mitte area but is a step a way from a U-Bahn which connects you to the entire city. the hotel area is quiet, and prices at the adjacent supermarket are low unlike the city center.
WiFi is free but reception is poor inside the rooms and connection is very slow (room for improvement...). on the public areas however reception is very good and fast..

Room Tip: I stayed at the comfort room at floor 5, asking to be closer to the network switch might be helpful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in May with my sister. The hotel was great for what you pay for- the location is only a few stops away from Alexanderplatz and u-bahn is literally right outside. The staff were friendly, the rooms clean and spacious enough for 2 people. bathroom also nice and clean. we didn't try the buffet breakfast because there was a lovely bakery literally right next door, but the breakfast looked great as well. if you are looking for a safe, clean basic and affordable room in a good location i would highly recommend- this is a good value for money room for people who dont spend much time in their hotel when on holidays.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jelena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel as a package for a great price.
It is a bit further out but is literally by a u ban station. You have to go only 5 stops to alexanderplatz. From there you can walk to all of the museums and great flow markets.
The district is lovely- opposit, and about a 5 min walk brings you to a street of bars and restaurant, cheaper than central berlin and great atmosphere.
Staff were very helpful and googled questions we had about trips we had booked and gave us weather updates.
Rooms were a bit small and warm, but realy who spends that much time in them.
Overall a bit further out than some, but fine with transport connections.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a terrible hotel, and I hated every moment in it. The biggest problem was the lack of climate control ... on two sunny days the room was ridiculously hot and the a/c control seemed merely for show. Nothing I did could actually make even the slightest gust and then overnight the heating came on! Our sheets were drenched in sweat.

Staff were wilfully useless ... when I complained about the heat there suggestions ranged from "try turning it off and it should work in a couple hours" to "you should go outside as it's a nice day".

In the end I opened a window but then you realise how noisy the place can get, and we had a "courtyard" (ie abandoned dilapidated building and roof of neighbour) view. Plus then if we closed the curtain it blocked the small breeze we could get, and meant I had to wake up at 5am to close (and heat up) to block the morning light

The room was small, the lifts slow, and the location pretty remote from any actual sights. It was close to a U-Bahn but that and a semi-decent wifi connection were it's only redeeming features.

I travel far more than most with both work and pleasure and this was by far one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Higher floors are apparently hotter (closer to the sun and apparently Germany hasn't mastered ei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blair D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
aletto Hotel Kudamm
aletto Hotel Kudamm
#138 of 667 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 stars 413 reviews
Mitte
BEST WESTERN Hotel am Spittelmarkt
Charlottenburg
Leonardo Hotel Berlin
Leonardo Hotel Berlin
#121 of 667 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 stars 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
Arcadia Hotel Berlin
Arcadia Hotel Berlin
#319 of 667 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Charlottenburg
Smart Stay Hotel Berlin City
Schoneberg
Ibis Budget Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel City Ost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel City Ost

Address: Frankfurter Allee 57-59 | 10247 Berlin, 10247 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Best Value Hotel in Berlin
#149 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#153 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel City Ost 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel City Ost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western City Ost
Best Western Berlin
Berlin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing