We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A solid basic hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel City Ost

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel City Ost to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel City Ost
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Frankfurter Allee 57-59, 10247 Berlin, Germany (Friedrichshain)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 30%
Ranked #124 of 664 hotels in Berlin
Haifa, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A solid basic hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a very functional hotal that gives great value for your money. I've been at this hotel 2 years ago and I returned to it again this year.

For your money you will get an exceptionally clean room (well done guys!) with a reasonable room size, This hotel gives you the basics of what you want from an hotel no more no less and does it well.
The location a bit outside the mitte area but is a step a way from a U-Bahn which connects you to the entire city. the hotel area is quiet, and prices at the adjacent supermarket are low unlike the city center.
WiFi is free but reception is poor inside the rooms and connection is very slow (room for improvement...). on the public areas however reception is very good and fast..

Room Tip: I stayed at the comfort room at floor 5, asking to be closer to the network switch might be helpful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    337
    67
    10
    5
See reviews for
45
356
52
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in May with my sister. The hotel was great for what you pay for- the location is only a few stops away from Alexanderplatz and u-bahn is literally right outside. The staff were friendly, the rooms clean and spacious enough for 2 people. bathroom also nice and clean. we didn't try the buffet breakfast because there was a lovely bakery literally right next door, but the breakfast looked great as well. if you are looking for a safe, clean basic and affordable room in a good location i would highly recommend- this is a good value for money room for people who dont spend much time in their hotel when on holidays.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel as a package for a great price.
It is a bit further out but is literally by a u ban station. You have to go only 5 stops to alexanderplatz. From there you can walk to all of the museums and great flow markets.
The district is lovely- opposit, and about a 5 min walk brings you to a street of bars and restaurant, cheaper than central berlin and great atmosphere.
Staff were very helpful and googled questions we had about trips we had booked and gave us weather updates.
Rooms were a bit small and warm, but realy who spends that much time in them.
Overall a bit further out than some, but fine with transport connections.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is a terrible hotel, and I hated every moment in it. The biggest problem was the lack of climate control ... on two sunny days the room was ridiculously hot and the a/c control seemed merely for show. Nothing I did could actually make even the slightest gust and then overnight the heating came on! Our sheets were drenched in sweat.

Staff were wilfully useless ... when I complained about the heat there suggestions ranged from "try turning it off and it should work in a couple hours" to "you should go outside as it's a nice day".

In the end I opened a window but then you realise how noisy the place can get, and we had a "courtyard" (ie abandoned dilapidated building and roof of neighbour) view. Plus then if we closed the curtain it blocked the small breeze we could get, and meant I had to wake up at 5am to close (and heat up) to block the morning light

The room was small, the lifts slow, and the location pretty remote from any actual sights. It was close to a U-Bahn but that and a semi-decent wifi connection were it's only redeeming features.

I travel far more than most with both work and pleasure and this was by far one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Higher floors are apparently hotter (closer to the sun and apparently Germany hasn't mastered ei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here this week on a 3 day trip to Berlin. As other reviewers have said, the A/C is pretty much non-existent. I had read that on here, so I didn't even bother complaining when ours didn't work. It wasn't much of a problem the first 2 nights, but the last night was very warm. However, we have found this issue with the A/C across Europe, so it is not unusual. Also, I booked a slightly more expensive room which came with a mini-bar figuring we could buy water, etc. from the local grocery store to keep cool in there - no such luck! There is actually a notice in the mini-bar stating that it is not for keeping things cool - so weird! So keep that in mind. Also, we were on the 6th floor and while I managed to use the Wi-Fi, it was very slow. If you connect in the lobby, it is very fast.
That being said, the room was clean, the beds were comfortable and the shower was hot with great water pressure. As others have said, the U-Bahn Samaritastrasse stop is literally out the door and it is a quick couple of stops into the main part of the city. We loved the convenience of the subway being there. There is a small pastry shop next door to the hotel where we bought pastries each morning for breakfast rather than pay 9 Euro at the hotel! Some have said the neighborhood isn't that good, but we didn't feel that way. We went to a pub called Peter's Bier Bar a few blocks away one night and got beers for less than 2 Euro each which was so much cheaper than anywhere else we visited (just know that they are allowed to smoke in bars).
All in all, I would stay here again. It was no frills, but we really just used the room to sleep and shower, so as long as it was clean and reasonably comfortable, I can't really complain for the price!

Room Tip: Book a room considered a "business room" and you will be put in one on the quiet side. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We booked a non-smoking room for 3 people for 3 days. Comfortable and decent sized beds (bigger than most I've been all over Western Europe) Spotless and nice bathroom too. Loved the big fluffy pillows. Neighborhood was nice, no noise at night. We definitely had a good night's sleep.

They said this hotel isn't in the best part of town but it compensates by having the U-Bahn (Samariterstraße) right outside (1-2 minutes walk!) Once you've figured your way in and out of station- everything should be fine.

Not much selections for food in this area but there are good Turkish restaurants/fastfood places that have kebabs and Doners being served.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Found the hotel to be fairly good with comfortable beds and a decent shower. We had a room at the back of the hotel and found it to be pretty quiet considering the hotel is on a main road. All the staff we met while staying there were very helpful and the twin room was clean although quite small. The only downside was that one of the two lifts was out of service throughout our stay.

Having the u-bahn right outside was really handy and it was an easy journey into central Berlin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel City Ost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel City Ost

Address: Frankfurter Allee 57-59, 10247 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel City Ost 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel City Ost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western City Ost
Best Western Berlin
Berlin Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel City Ost, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.