We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of delicious burger heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burgermeister

Burgermeister
Oberbaumstrasse 8, 10997 Berlin, Germany (Kreuzberg)
+49 30 23883840
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 5,666 restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Late Night, Street Food
Neighborhood: Kreuzberg
surrey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A little piece of delicious burger heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Tucked away in what used to be as public toilet, Burgermeister is the perfect dive for a delish burger and a cheap beer.
The staff were a little rude - but considering I speak only basic German I think this is only to expect really - but the food more than made up for it.
Covered in stickers it's a cute underground fast-food haven for a quick lunch bite.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    340
    164
    47
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Perfectly dodgy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

This place may be the world's best overall burger joint! Its tucked away under this bridge and there's always a line to eat so you know its gotta be special. Then you get your food and you taste this burger that is just stacked from top to bottom. And the fries are so incredibly good with the chili cheese. Basically if you wake up after a long Berlin night craving the most delicious junk food ever, and you're anywhere near Kreuzberg, stop by this friendly little outdoor burgerspot. Plus the guys that work there seem like they really know how to cook things up.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect burger for a perfect hangover in Kreuzberg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Simply delicious homemade burger With nice music cooked by nice looking guys! The fries With cheese was really good also!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very Tasty Burgers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were on 4 day trip to Berlin this month and happened to drop into Burgermeister three times during our stay. I'll be honest, I'm not a massive burger and fries kinda guy but I really enjoyed every time we ate here.

The outlet itself is situated underneath a train overpass in East Berlin, and is always packed, especially late at night. Their burgers are delicious and their fries are some of the best I've tasted. Expect a young, hip, bohemian crowd hanging out here at night. They also have a good selection of beers and its relatively cheap. One downside is they could do with a few more seats.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and good value food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

When you first arrive the whole set up is a little surreal and I was wondering if we had the right place given that it's ranked so highly.
The shack they serve from is pretty small and queues apparently can get quite long (not something we really experienced) but the food is well worth any wait!
Exceptionally good burgers for a pretty reasonable price made the perfect meal for travellers like myself.
I would definitely recommend here if you're looking for a different experience and some great food with an awesome atmosphere.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burgermeister also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany

Been to Burgermeister? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burgermeister, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.