We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chocolate Truffles Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fassbender-Rausch

Fassbender-Rausch
Charlottenstrasse 60, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
+49 (0)30 - 20 45 84 43
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 5,953 Restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Mitte
Mint Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Chocolate Truffles Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I waited until my last day to visit this wonderful chocolate shop. It's a chocolate lovers dream. So many choices it was difficult. There is basically no bad choice. I wish I could get more now that I'm back home. There are some WONDERFUL chocolate sculptures of various Berlin landmarks that are incredible to see. Great place to visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    497
    218
    41
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I visited the cafe for hot chocolate and dessert. Both of these lived up to their expectations. Please note that the English version of the menu says 'biscuit' in the desserts, however it's actually sponge cake. Would definitely go back for seconds... And thirds :)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Chocolate heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The cafe is on the second floor with a really good view of the surrounding area that you can watch the world go by. If you can take your eyes off the cakes!
Friendly english speaking staff made you feel very welcome.
Cakes were very good if a little heavy going. The hot chocolate drink was simply divine. All the main courses had chocolate in them in one form or another even the pasta.
If you like chocolate you will love this place.
Downstairs is a wide range of chocolate goods to tempt you all displayed really well and some very impressive chocolate sculptures including a giant teddy bear and the Titanic.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Chocolate cafe & shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I love chocolate and found this place very enjoyable. The staff in the cafe were very friendly and welcoming and talked to you as equals even though we clearly weren't quite as posh as some of the other visitors! We only had drinks as we weren't hungry, these were good, not amazing but nice. I'd like to go back to try some of the desserts as they were very impressive looking

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Went back for seconds...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The day after we arrived we were given this chocolate shop as a recommendation for the best chocolate in Berlin. Truer words were never spoken. Walking there from Potsdamer Platz, we really enjoyed the chocolate torts and hot chocolate. Having lived previously in Germany, this was my first visit back since the wall came down. The Chocolatiers am Gendarmenmark (Charlottenstrasse 60) truly represent the growth and excitement of Berlin. The shop is in an exciting location and is close enough for walking to areas such as Checkpoint Charlie. Meals are also available with a touch of chocolate in the various dishes. There are many different options for gifts...after all, who doesn't like top quality chocolate. The chocolate models of key points of interest merit going to the shop just to see them. This chocolate shop may not be of interest to everyone but for those of you looking to sample some of the worlds best, take time to visit! We went back for seconds!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fassbender-Rausch also viewed

 

Been to Fassbender-Rausch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fassbender-Rausch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.