We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmmmm, chocolate!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fassbender & Rausch

Fassbender & Rausch
Charlottenstrasse 60 | Entrance Mohrenstrasse, right next to Am Gendarmenmarkt, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
4930757882440
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 6,277 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $23
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Cafe, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Mitte
Description: Welcome to Fassbender & Rausch in Berlin, Germany - the largest chocolaterie in the world.
Yorks
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Mmmmmm, chocolate!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A fabulous chocolate shop that you can drool over for hours! The cafe upstairs serves great little cakes (very similar to the well-known Bettys Cafes in Yorkshire) although we found the service a bit hit-and-miss. The cafe menu shows all the cakes and has a description about each one, and there's an extensive tea,coffee & drinks section. The cafe itself is nothing special - it's really the downstairs chocolate shop that draws the crowds though - if you like proper dark chocolate you'll think it's heaven!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    678
    289
    51
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Chocolatey Heaven!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stopped off here one afternoon to try the café & buy some goodies to bring home. This place is a must do for any chocolate lover. Downstairs is the shop, with a vast selection of products to choose from, not just chocolate, but also fruit jellies, jams, marmalades, marzipan etc.

They have counters with freshly made truffles etc for you to buy per 100g weight, as well as individual desserts.

The only thing I didn't enjoy in the café was the hot chocolate. I opted for the milk chocolate one with whipped cream, & it was simply far too sweet for my liking. The chocolate mousse cake & the plain chocolate ganache ones were delicious!

Prices were also surprisingly good value for money, I could have spent a fortune in here!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Chocolate Lovers Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Great chocolate shop and cafe. The sculptures have to be seen to be believed. Fantastic hot chocolate and cakes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester, Lancashire
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Chocolate lovers paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We absolutely loved this place.

The shop on the ground floor has many chocolate sculptures including the Brandenburg gate, an Airbus A380 and a volcano, amongst many different chocolates to buy and cakes from the patisserie all which are quite reasonably priced.

We went up to the cafe and the service was fantastic we ordered a patisserie cake each along with a drink each and the cakes were amazing ( best I have ever had), we returned to the shop later in the week to get some gifts for friends and family and it was all well received.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Forget Willy Wonka”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very reasonable prices for excellent chocolate choices. Great chocolate creations which rival museum quality. Best selection of fresh truffles anywhere. Check out restaurant upstairs which adds chocolate to all it offers.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fassbender & Rausch also viewed

 

Been to Fassbender & Rausch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fassbender & Rausch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.