We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmmmm, chocolate!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fassbender-Rausch

Fassbender-Rausch
Charlottenstrasse 60, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
+49 (0)30 - 20 45 84 43
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5,806 Restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Mitte
Yorks
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Mmmmmm, chocolate!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A fabulous chocolate shop that you can drool over for hours! The cafe upstairs serves great little cakes (very similar to the well-known Bettys Cafes in Yorkshire) although we found the service a bit hit-and-miss. The cafe menu shows all the cakes and has a description about each one, and there's an extensive tea,coffee & drinks section. The cafe itself is nothing special - it's really the downstairs chocolate shop that draws the crowds though - if you like proper dark chocolate you'll think it's heaven!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    170
    32
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Chocolatey Heaven!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stopped off here one afternoon to try the café & buy some goodies to bring home. This place is a must do for any chocolate lover. Downstairs is the shop, with a vast selection of products to choose from, not just chocolate, but also fruit jellies, jams, marmalades, marzipan etc.

They have counters with freshly made truffles etc for you to buy per 100g weight, as well as individual desserts.

The only thing I didn't enjoy in the café was the hot chocolate. I opted for the milk chocolate one with whipped cream, & it was simply far too sweet for my liking. The chocolate mousse cake & the plain chocolate ganache ones were delicious!

Prices were also surprisingly good value for money, I could have spent a fortune in here!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Chocolate Lovers Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Great chocolate shop and cafe. The sculptures have to be seen to be believed. Fantastic hot chocolate and cakes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester, Lancashire
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Chocolate lovers paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We absolutely loved this place.

The shop on the ground floor has many chocolate sculptures including the Brandenburg gate, an Airbus A380 and a volcano, amongst many different chocolates to buy and cakes from the patisserie all which are quite reasonably priced.

We went up to the cafe and the service was fantastic we ordered a patisserie cake each along with a drink each and the cakes were amazing ( best I have ever had), we returned to the shop later in the week to get some gifts for friends and family and it was all well received.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Forget Willy Wonka”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very reasonable prices for excellent chocolate choices. Great chocolate creations which rival museum quality. Best selection of fresh truffles anywhere. Check out restaurant upstairs which adds chocolate to all it offers.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fassbender-Rausch also viewed

 

Been to Fassbender-Rausch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fassbender-Rausch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.