We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why, oh why do we not have iced chocolate in America?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fassbender-Rausch

Fassbender-Rausch
Charlottenstrasse 60 | Eingang Mohrenstrasse, Direkt Am Gendarmenmarkt, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
+49 30 20458443
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 74 Dessert in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $24
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Coffee & Tea, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Mitte
Kowloon
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Why, oh why do we not have iced chocolate in America?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Not only didn't we have it where I grew up, they don't have it where I live now and this is a bigger mystery than Big Foot, cause we all love chocolate and cold drinks so why did I have to wait for Europe to get multiple chances to try this fabulous drink, both with ice cream and without? Fassbender-Rausch has some of the best Iced choc0oate you could ever hope to taste. And I'll definitely be there to have it again and possibly sample some of their other treats, as soon as I lose those extra pounds I got on and fatten up my bank account for another trip. If you like chocolate, then you simply can not miss trying this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    621
    265
    46
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kowloon
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Wow, a Chocolate Brandenburg Gate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Everything you could possibly want in chocolate of the highest quality and a huge variety of types and flavors. Sculptures, truffles, with alcohol and without, with nuts, in layers, and at least six different types of marzipan alone. This is one chocolate shop not to miss. The prices are high but affordable if you don't over do it.
There is also a cafe upstairs that is definitely worth visiting but that seems to have a separate listing so look for more there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring, NJ
Top Contributor
358 reviews 358 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
260 helpful votes 260 helpful votes
“If you really love chocolate.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

If you can get past the ground floor shop devoted entirely to chocolate creations without suffering a chocolate overload, take the elevator to the first floor (second floor for Americans) and have a chocolate drink and a torte. It was a cold day in early April in Berlin, and my wife thought hot chocolate was an appropriate antidote. You cannot just ask for hot chocolate. There is a hot chocolate menu to choose from and a variety of toppings. We each chose a very rich dark chocolate and my wife added whipped cream. It was indeed rich, but we thought also somewhat bitter. It was called "Edel Bitter", so perhaps we should have known.

We also each ordered a dark chocolate torte with dark ganache and dark chocolate pieces. It was delicious, but by now we were beginning to suffer overload. We like chocolate, but....

Nevertheless, we certainly would return to Fassbender and Rausch from time to time if we lived in the area. It was expensive, but not overly so considering the high quality of the offerings. Our drinks were about 4 euro each, as were our tortes. Roughly $5 US for each item.

The decor is very attractive and the large windows look out onto Gendarmenmarkt with a view of the French Cathedral.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“You just have to experience this.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We didn't eat in the cafe, we were too late but boy did we sample some chocolate!! This is a fantastic store with countless chocolate offerings of all shapes and sizes. The chocolate models of the Titanic, Brandenburg Gate, Berlin TV Tower and an Airbus A380 are all astonishing. Go to the area where you can make your own selection and they let you taste each one!! Beautiful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect for resting tired feet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Worth dropping in for a hot chocolate if you have tired feet - you can choose the cocoa content and flavourings in various combinations. Yum! The shop downstairs was lovely to look around and we found some delicious creations.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fassbender-Rausch also viewed

 

Been to Fassbender-Rausch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fassbender-Rausch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.