We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmmarzipan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fassbender-Rausch

Fassbender-Rausch
Charlottenstrasse 60, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
+49 (0)30 - 20 45 84 43
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 5,953 Restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Mitte
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Mmmmarzipan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

This is a really nice, gourmet choclate shop and not as expensive as you'd expect at all. The chocolate models are a thing to behold, as are the cabinets that run the length of the shop, full of truffles and marzipan!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    497
    218
    41
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Chocolate everywhere !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Went in for lunch and we were very impressed. Everything on the menu has chocolate in it. Even the small bread and tomato dip did not escape the chocolate inclusion. We both had a lovely lentil stew which had chocolate in the sauce and it was lovely. Coffee was great and the abundant choice of cakes looked very nice.

Shop is very impressive with several Berlin landmarks made out of chocolate. Prices are very reasonable and there are a great choice of products on sale. A must visit in Berlin !!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The best hot chocolate!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were just finishing a four hour walking tour in the freezing cold when we walked past this place.
The chocolate sculptures in the window of Berlin landmarks are amazing. As we finished the tour, the only place we could think about was here to get warm. We had the best hot chocolate ever! My daughter had the milk chocolate with cream, I had the the El Cuador, the 75% one, with milk. We shared a Tiramisu cake. Fabulous.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, UK
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Choc lovers delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Downstairs is a shop that overcomes you with the smell of chocolate, it gets better when you go upstairs to the cafe with a view over the gendarmarkt. Chocolate drink about 4e and a cake 4e. I thought that it was fairly cheap for such a Berlin institution. You might have to wait a short time to be seated.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“the stuff of dreams...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My friend and I have been looking forward to our short holiday In Berlin since December 2012 and a visit to this establishment for almost as long. We were not disappointed. First, the ground floor almost beggars belief with the wonderful sculptures, very tempting to say the least. Onwards and upwards, literally to the first floor restaurant where we were shown to a window table overlooking Charlottenstrasse by a very personable gentleman. Our waitress was helpful and cheerful. The complimentary starter was a surprise and very tasty, Our main courses were delicious and if I were to make any adverse remark it would be that I had too much on my plate. (This is not to say that I did not manage to clear my plate}. Finally to dessert and what a dessert. It looked exactly like its image on the menu and the taste was heavenly. I am not a chocoholic, but I could easily become addicted if all chocolate tasted like this. Whoever thought that chocolate could accompany savoury dishes was a genius.
We visited the shop before leaving, and needless to say we did not leave empty handed. A truly wonderful experience and one that I hope to repeat again one day.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fassbender-Rausch also viewed

 

Been to Fassbender-Rausch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fassbender-Rausch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.