We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy bed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kurfuerstenstrasse 78, 10787 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #127 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Bracknell, England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Comfy bed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I stayed for three nights with a friend. The bed was lovely and comfy, the bathroom had a good power shower - we both have long hair so a good shower to wash our hair is essential.
It is well located - the no 100 bus stop is just down the road and the Zoo main station, U-bahn, S-Bahn and bus station were 10 minutes easy walk. There is an excellent Vietnamese restaurant opposite for those times you don't want to go far.
The free wifi internet signal is good and the free breakfast is good too

Room Tip: We had a room at the front which was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    346
    74
    12
    4
See reviews for
119
233
50
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Routinely I have stayed at Holiday Inn establishments but this was my first at a Holiday Inn Express. For "Express" one should understand this to mean "budget".

While I was booked into a room which appeared to be in a newer part of the building, there were facilities which help to make travel more comfortable and many of these were absent. Notably no bagstand to place a suitcase on; no iron & board, and no mini fridge.

No matter how well one packs a suitcase some creasing occurs and the ability to iron them out is of considerable value. People do travel with suitcases and the absence of a bagstand is a major inconvenience. Mini-bars do cause angst, but the presence of a fridge is useful as you don't eat out every night. With the limited "in room" facilities the establishment is better suited to stays of 1or 2 nights and when travelling with an overnight bag only.

Check-in was efficient and check-out even more so. Sadly front of house staff were anything but enthusiastic. I stayed several days and had to make 3 trips to the front office for new Wi-Fi logins. Staff were civil and courteous but gave the impression they would rather be elsewhere. Of the 2 room entry cards provided one could not be read by the card readers.

The inclusive breakfast was good. Fairly basic, but both nutritious and more than adequate. The breakfast room could do with an efficient conveyor toaster.

The hotel is conveniently located on the 100 bus route and a 15 minute walk to Berlin-Zoo Bahnhof.

I will be more cautious before booking a Holiday Inn Express room, anywhere, again.

Room Tip: Don't wish for too much from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at this Holiday Inn Express. The rooms were very clean, modern, and nicely appointed. The bathroom was larger than the previous hotel we had stayed at in Europe (similar to what we were use to, not cramped) and the beds were comfortable too. The location of the hotel is excellent! You are near a good amount of restaurants, shops, and the zoo. The U-Bahn station (Wittenbergplatz) is about 3 blocks away and the bus stop is even closer. The breakfast was good and the offerings were traditional European (cold meats, bread, and cheese) with cereal as well. The staff was: friendly, polite, and knowledgeable. I will be staying here on our next visit to Berlin!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights and it suited all our needs.Just opoosite of hotel is a bus stop of n. 100 bus which connects all major sights of Berlin.The staff is very polite, at your service day and night.Rooms are rather small but spotless with comfy beds and nice functional bathroom. Breakfast is good, with various choices although no hot buffet. Hotel is decorated in modern way so you will feel in the right place to explore hip Berlin.In the evening there is plenty options for dinner from Argentinian to Thai and Chinese restaurants.I would recommend this hotel for a city break in Berlin

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Good location. Clean and simple rooms with air condition. My room was on the first floor, but noises from the street didn't matter. Breakfast was modest but ok. Had little trouple with the shower but it was quicly fixed by the staff. Would vome here again.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

We checked in today, some problems with payment, the group leader said that she would solve all problems but please give the group first the keys for people to rest. We were just there after a long day. The receptionist (trainee) said it is not her problem! First payment... Finale when things are done, we asked for wifi password which she needs to print for everyone. The printer does not work. Again the answer: it is not my problem!

It seems that she does not care anything about the guests and the service.

With such kind of attitude, she should not work in hotel business.
Besides she did not give even one smile, a stone face from beginning to the end.

Even the hotel is good in general, we would never go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights recently and found it to be an excellent experience. Well located and easy to get to via bus/ Ubahn from Berlin Schoenfeld. The staff were always very friendly and accommodating (They extended the check out time until 2pm without request.) The only small downside is, although free, the wifi signal in the rooms is very bad. If I wanted to access the internet I had to go downstairs to the foyer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERCW, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Pixieregan,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to give us your feedback from your recent stay and your kind words!
We already contacted our IT-Support to improve the mentioned WIFI-Service.
We hope to welcoming you back another time and remain

With kind Regards
Your Team from the Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West

Address: Kurfuerstenstrasse 78, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte , Tiergarten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#86 Family Hotel in Berlin
#123 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berlin's first brand new entirely non smoking hotel opened in 2008! The brand new Holiday Inn Express Hotel Berlin City Centre West is located in the center of Berlin only a few steps away from the famous boulevard Kurfuerstendamm, the well-known department store KaDeWe, the Kaiser-Wilhelm-Memorial Church, Berlin Zoo, Potsdamer Platz and Charlottenburg Castle. The worldfamous Alexanderplatz in Berlin Mitte, the Berlin Jewish Museum, the Berlin Wall, the Brandburg Gate, Berlin Unter den Linden, Friedrichstrasse , and Check Point Charlie are all within easy access. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Berlin City Centre West offers 158 non smoking luxurious en suite air-conditioned bedrooms, each with flat screen colour TV with a variety of channels, modem point, High Speed Wi-Fi Internet Connectivity, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Berlin City Centre West is only two minutes from the InterContinental Hotel which hosts major events throughout the year. The Holiday Inn Express Berlin Hotel City Centre West offers affordable on-site car parking with direct access to reception and high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the entire hotel. Stay Smart, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Berlin City Centre West is expecting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West Hotel Berlin
Holiday Inn Berlin
Berlin Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.