We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located hotel with cheap and clean room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kurfuerstenstrasse 78, 10787 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #129 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Mariehamn, Finland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Well located hotel with cheap and clean room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Pros : Very silent and clean room, with kettle plus coffee and tea. Professional staff. Really cheap for the location and close to the underground. Also the instruction to reach the hotel on their website was really helpful.

Cons : The WIFI access was not free which is quite surprising in 2012 and there was no vegetables for the breakfast.

Otherwise we definitely recommend it even for a full week as we have done it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERCW, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear Vlad74,
thank you very much for your time to write an overview regarding your stay.
We appreciate your kind words and are proud to say that we'll add vegetables to our complimentary breakfast by February.
We are looking foward to welcoming you back again.
Your Team from Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    343
    73
    12
    4
See reviews for
118
228
49
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights in this hotel during business trip. Room i clean and comfortable, with tea / coffe facilities. No minibar. No problem with WiFi internet (EUR 5,0 per 24 hours). Breakfast quite frugal. There is a perfect Argentinian steakhouse restaurant near the hotel. Shopping street and railway station are within walking distance.

Room Tip: Room 818 is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERCW, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear EvilBorg,
Thank you very much for your recent stay in our Hotel and your review here on Tripadvisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon as our guest and remain
with kind regards
The Team from Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in Mid- November 2011. We flew into Tegel airport and the hotel is very easy to get to from there via bus (X9/100). All the reception staff we dealt with where very friendly and spoke perfect English. We stayed on the 5th floor over looking the main road (Kurfuerstenstrasse), although you could hear the traffic noise it wasn't annoying and it didn't affect our sleep. The room itself was modern and clean, with the bathroom being stylish - the blue led night light was a nice touch! There wasn't a wardrobe as such, just a rail and shelves, but this is common in budget hotels. The bed wasn't that comfy for me and I struggled to sleep in it at first, although my girlfriend had no problems with it. There is a kettle and coffee/tea in the room, although ours didn't seem to get topped up fully until it all had gone - basically limiting you to one coffee a day! You may of been able to get it refiled by reception but we never asked.

We were pleased with the breakfast, they had a reasonably good selection of cereals/bread/meat/cheese/hard boiled eggs and pastries plus tea/coffee/fruit juices. The restaurant did get busy at times but there wasn't any trouble getting a seat.

It is easy to get to the main attractions from this hotel, the 100 bus goes from outside the hotel to Alexanderplatz, the 200 bus does a similar route from the street above the hotel (Budapester Strasse) and Wittenbergplatz U-Bahn is 8-10 mins away.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, it may not be anything special but it was perfect for a city break in Berlin.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERCW, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear Digitalmunkey,
Thank you very much for your time and your friendly words regarding your stay. We are more than happy to be able to deliver what you expected.
We hope to welcome you back soon as our guest.
With best regards
Your Team from Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Visited late November 2011, stayed for 3 nights in a very quite double room and enjoyed my stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful, picked my prearrived packages and safeguarded them until my arrival. The complimentary breakfast had less variety than is usual in German hotels however everything was fresh and tasty.
The hotel is very close to the colourful Charlottenburg area (10 minutes walk) and the major sightseeing bus line 100 directly passes on the Kurfursten street across the hotel. Bus 100 operates between Zoo and Alexandraplatz almost every 10-15 minutes and crosses through all Berlin sightseeings including Musuem Island and stops at Schill street station, 100 metres from the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms looking to the backyard are silent; book a room higher than the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERCW, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Dear MMO_Instanbul,
Thanky you very much for choosing our Hotel during your stay in Berlin.We appreciate your good feedback and are very pleased you have had a good time with us.
Especially your comment about our staff is highly motivating for all our colleagues.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon as our guests.
Your Team from Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

The hotel opened only three years ago and represents the modern construction style applied to many HI Express properties of late. North American visitors may notice that the free breakfast does not offer all the times usually seen in Canada and the US., but bread and cuts are plentiful, and boiled eggs. No omelettes though. Located in the core of old West Berlin - I asked the front desk about another Holiday Inn in Berlin (Landsberger Allee). The receptionist first denied its existance, but then said that as they are franchised she would not know about other HI properties in Berlin. It seems to corporate brand of IHG is not very pervasive towards the staff.

Room Tip: Kurfurstenstrasse is usually quiet, but rooms on the rear side are more silent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERCW, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Dear Maitland55,
Thank you very much for your recent stay in our Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre West.
We are pleased to hear that you had spent some enjoyable days with us. We appreciate that you are pointing out our good breakfast buffet .
We will pass your commendation to our Front Desk staff and we will use it for further trainings. We are looking forward to welcoming you back as our guest soon and remain
with best regards
Your Team from Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Modern, bright basic business hotel. Friendly, helpful English-speaking staff, very good breakfast included, no wifi issues except you can only use one device at a time. I had requested a large bed but found two singles pushed together.

As for location, easy 10-minute walk to Wittenbergplatz U-bahn and the huge KaDeWe department store, and a little farther is Kurfürstendamm. Bus 100 passes right in front of hotel and goes by many tourist attractions, such as Brandenburg Gate, Bundestag, Unter den Linden, Deutsches Historisches Museum, Hackescher Markt, Alexanderplatz. Area felt quite safe after dark.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERCW, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Dear SteveC1970,
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us in our Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre West.
We appreciate your good feedback and are very pleased you have had a good time with us.
Especially your comment about our front office staff ismotivating for all our colleagues.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon as our guests.
With best regards
Your Team from the Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

We visited Berlin in October 2011, stayed in a double room, very clean. Complimentary breakfast had lots of choice which gave a great start to the day. All staff were very friendly, helpful and polite. Hotel is situated close to many attractions and others can be easily accessed on public transport which is very close by. Plenty of amenities nearby the hotel for shopping or dinner. I would certainly return to this hotel on further trips.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERCW, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Dear Boggiedoggie,
Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to your many returns.
Your Team from Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West

Address: Kurfuerstenstrasse 78, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte , Tiergarten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#96 Family Hotel in Berlin
#127 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berlin's first brand new entirely non smoking hotel opened in 2008! The brand new Holiday Inn Express Hotel Berlin City Centre West is located in the center of Berlin only a few steps away from the famous boulevard Kurfuerstendamm, the well-known department store KaDeWe, the Kaiser-Wilhelm-Memorial Church, Berlin Zoo, Potsdamer Platz and Charlottenburg Castle. The worldfamous Alexanderplatz in Berlin Mitte, the Berlin Jewish Museum, the Berlin Wall, the Brandburg Gate, Berlin Unter den Linden, Friedrichstrasse , and Check Point Charlie are all within easy access. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Berlin City Centre West offers 158 non smoking luxurious en suite air-conditioned bedrooms, each with flat screen colour TV with a variety of channels, modem point, High Speed Wi-Fi Internet Connectivity, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Berlin City Centre West is only two minutes from the InterContinental Hotel which hosts major events throughout the year. The Holiday Inn Express Berlin Hotel City Centre West offers affordable on-site car parking with direct access to reception and high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the entire hotel. Stay Smart, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Berlin City Centre West is expecting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West Hotel Berlin
Holiday Inn Berlin
Berlin Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre-West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.