We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, but inexpensive and great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel-Pension Classic

Save Saved
You added Hotel-Pension Classic to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel-Pension Classic
Wittenbergplatz 5 - 6, 10789 Berlin, Germany (Schöneberg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 178 Berlin B&B and Inns
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Simple, but inexpensive and great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Easy to find and walk around the city. We flew into Berlin Schenfeld and took the train to Zoo Station. Easy walk from there. The rooms were simple, the breakfast was very nice, and the price was decent. Adequate shower, slowish wi-fi, but the comforters were toasty during the winter nights. This is just what you need if you just need a clean, safe place to sleep and plan to spend your day touring Berlin. There's a large courtyard out front that hosts a market with food vendors. The food is great. I rate it average because it's nothing amazing, but it's perfect for a weekend visit to Berlin. Oh, don't be scared walking up the massive stairs to the second floor where the hotel is located; it's a bit overwhelming (must have been a mansion once upon a time). The owners are super friendly.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    43
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
29
33
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mechelen, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Stayed here for three nights in january 2012. Excellent location: next to a U-bahn station and some 200m away there is a stop for the Buslinien 100 (which route goes by almost all the sights worth a visit like Reichtsag, Brandenburger Tor, Under den Linden, ...). Our room looked upon the square but still the room (and the hotel) was very quiet. The rooms were big and spotlessly clean (bathroom also very clean but smaller). Breakfast buffet was ok. The hotel seemed to be run by a russian couple. The guy was very friendly but the woman seemed a litte bit grumpy. Dislikes? Nothing really important! Maybe the shower: the temperature of the water was hard to regulate and changed suddenly from very hot to very cold. Bed were very comfortable! All in all: recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I had the distinct pleasure of staying at the Hotel-Pension Classic for 8 nights over Christmas 2011. Planning for this holiday to Berlin was the first time I'd used TripAdvisor extensively to source the accommodation. I'd probably spent a couple of hours all-up pouring over reviews for many similar types of accommodation (small hotels & hostels), and I must say that the 'common thread' of fantastic reviews about this hotel was almost unique among all the reviews of all the competing small hotels, so I'd just like to add my recommendation for this spotlessly clean, silently quiet (both internally and no 'traffic' noise from outside), and above all exceptionally friendly place.
For a single occupier of a double room, my stay was unbelievable value for money, and I don't think I could have found cheaper accommodation (for sole occupancy of a room) at any of the hostels in town.
If I ever go to Berlin again, I'll be checking availability for a room at the Hotel-Pension Classic before I book my flights, as if I can't get one - due to 100% occupancy - then I'd rather change the dates of my travel than try and find somewhere else to stay.
The Breakfast was superb, served up until 10AM, which was handy for a 'later starter' like me (well, I was on holiday :-) and what was noticeably excellent was that the lovely lady kept replenishing everything that was on offer (a wide range of Continental Breakfast items, tea, coffee, all the 'trimmings') right up until 10 AM; it wasn't a case of 'when it runs out, it runs out...' as the choice for breakfast for me was exactly the same at 09:57 as it would have been at 7:31.
Thanks for a great experience!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Lovely clean rooms, friendly helpful staff, breakfast (standard buffet - meats, cheeses, cold cereals, yoghurts, coffee, fruit) and Wifi included, in a convenient neighborhood. The U station is right across the street as is the fabulous KaDeWe department store. Beds were the most comfortable we experienced in Germany. The only negative from my perspective - there are forty-five steps from the sidewalk to the reception desk.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were pretty much equivalent to ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Great location, easy access to all of Berlin's sites, large, clean rooms, friendly staff, more than satisfactory breakfast...would definitely stay here again and recommend. Safe area to walk around in and convenient supermarket right next door.

Room Tip: not necessary to book larger room for just a couple- rooms are spacious and more than adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Great location,friendly staff and a great breakfast made this an ideal hotel for us
One of the main things was that the hotel was lovely and warm , we were there in December so this was one of our concerns.
I would recommend this place to anybody.
One minor drawback, being british we love our cuppa and there is no kettle in the room so either pack a travel one or get used to it.
All in all an excellent stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

I stayed here two nights and would definitely recommend this pension to anyone who appreciates value for money, a central location, - literally a hop, skip across the road, and jump, to the u-bahn (Wittenberg Platz), and a most excellent breakfast. (Served 7.30am-10am - buffet consisting breads (toaster available), with butter, jams etc, yogurts, cereals, fruit, cold meats and cheeses, boiled eggs (warm if you get up early enough), tea and real coffee. My room was spacious and clean, with TV and ensuite (45 Euro single), the bed very comfortable and shower hot with good pressure. The management are friendly. Having stayed in November I can also tell you that the central heating is very efficient which was important when the temperature was around zero. I found the room very quiet although I was there Monday and Tuesday night. I enjoyed having a view of Wittenberg Place and the sun coming in through the large windows when I arrived in the early afternoon. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel-Pension Classic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Pension Classic

Address: Wittenbergplatz 5 - 6, 10789 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Schöneberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel-Pension Classic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel-Pension Classic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.