We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous restaurant - well worth a visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sisaket (Mao Thai)

Sisaket (Mao Thai)
Mauerstr. 76, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #95 of 6,095 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Families with children, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mitte
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
“Fabulous restaurant - well worth a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed just two doors up from the Sisaket in the Gat Point Charlie so it would have been rude not to try the Sisaket, especially as the Trip reviews are so good. The restaurant didn't disappoint. It has a very pleasant ambiance and feels like quite a small intimate place even though it extends back a long way from the street. There's an outdoor patio area as well as tables on the pavement but it was too cold to sit outside. We were greeted by friendly waiting staff in beautiful brocaded silk costumes and seated quite close to the entrance. It wasn't busy when we went so I can't comment on how it would be at the height of the season. We didn't have a reservation but I'm sure this would be a must at busy times. The menu is very extensive but printed in German, English and Thai so there's no language problem. All the spicier meals are marked eith the standard chilli symbols. We picked up a leaflet of the menu (plus it's available as a PDF from their website) which meant that we could choose in advance. We ordered a bit too much food (one shrimp, one duck, pork ribs and fried rice with chicken) but that's always a danger with East Asian restaurants. We didn't need the fried rice as all meals come with steamed rice. This was pointed out to us but hey we like fried rice. I think a good guide is probably one dish per person in the party plus maybe fried rice. The food was amazing - delicious, fresh, full of fabulous flavours and so beautifully presented. For example, our shrimp dish was served in a whole coconut with the hard shell removed and the duck dish came with a small duck in flight sculpted from hard bamboo shoot. The total bill including two small beers and a tip came to about €64 which isn't cheap but we thought was pretty good for such a fantastic meal. Would love to eat here again if we ever return to Berlin.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    100
    18
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Our favourite meal of the holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Lovely meal, great atmosphere, amazing service, unbelievable value for the quality and authenticity of the meal.
This is a must and is pretty easy to find as it is not far from check point charlie.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lodz, Poland
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

I was very supriced when this recomended thai restaurant appeared to be huge local very much out of the turist track getting compleetly full with Berliners during lunch time. Even though it is so big it is nicely decored in Asisn style.
Food is just delicious. Curry dishes are big and rich. Shims are big size snd really fresh. Only soups were too small and not enought thai style.
Service ( all Thais) is unfortunately not do good as food even though they are nice. After your order is taken there are little chances to download anyone to your table. Of you need more te or bear you would rather need to go and get it by yourself.
It is the best thai food I had in Berlin and Europe! Try it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai Cuisine: A MUST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Sisaket is probably the best Thai restaurant in Berlin. The restaurant is on the fancy side for a Thai restaurant but that’s what makes it so authentic. The food has excellent presentation and the décor of the restaurant has an authentic feel with the servers wearing Thai dresses. It reminds me of some of the fancy Thai restaurants I went to in Thailand. The ambience of the restaurant transports you back to Bangkok…that’s pretty neat!

For appetizers, the papaya salad is so flavorful, spicy and tasty. It is light and delightful. The portion size is small since it is served gourmet style. It serves two at most.

For dinner, the basil-fried rice with tofu is not on the menu but they were able to make it for us. This rice has a nice authentic flavor and had very little salt and oil. It tastes so healthy. Yes, healthy Asian food exists indeed! And this restaurant does not use MSG.

The Thai red curry is another great selection. I only had the opportunity to visit once during my stay in Berlin but if I ever visit Berlin again I will most certainly be back here so I can try more dishes. I am sure they are all amazing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Perfect! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here after touring the checkpoint charlie museum. It was a perfect break from the heavy German food we have been eating on this trip. Great vegetables, spices to your liking, and amazing garnishments made it all a wonderful break.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Sisaket (Mao Thai) also viewed

 

Been to Sisaket (Mao Thai)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sisaket (Mao Thai), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.