We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sisaket (Mao Thai)

Sisaket (Mao Thai)
Mauerstr. 76, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #114 of 6,193 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mitte
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
190 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

I was very supriced when this recomended thai restaurant appeared to be huge local very much out of the turist track getting compleetly full with Berliners during lunch time. Even though it is so big it is nicely decored in Asisn style.
Food is just delicious. Curry dishes are big and rich. Shims are big size snd really fresh. Only soups were too small and not enought thai style.
Service ( all Thais) is unfortunately not do good as food even though they are nice. After your order is taken there are little chances to download anyone to your table. Of you need more te or bear you would rather need to go and get it by yourself.
It is the best thai food I had in Berlin and Europe! Try it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    104
    22
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai Cuisine: A MUST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Sisaket is probably the best Thai restaurant in Berlin. The restaurant is on the fancy side for a Thai restaurant but that’s what makes it so authentic. The food has excellent presentation and the décor of the restaurant has an authentic feel with the servers wearing Thai dresses. It reminds me of some of the fancy Thai restaurants I went to in Thailand. The ambience of the restaurant transports you back to Bangkok…that’s pretty neat!

For appetizers, the papaya salad is so flavorful, spicy and tasty. It is light and delightful. The portion size is small since it is served gourmet style. It serves two at most.

For dinner, the basil-fried rice with tofu is not on the menu but they were able to make it for us. This rice has a nice authentic flavor and had very little salt and oil. It tastes so healthy. Yes, healthy Asian food exists indeed! And this restaurant does not use MSG.

The Thai red curry is another great selection. I only had the opportunity to visit once during my stay in Berlin but if I ever visit Berlin again I will most certainly be back here so I can try more dishes. I am sure they are all amazing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here after touring the checkpoint charlie museum. It was a perfect break from the heavy German food we have been eating on this trip. Great vegetables, spices to your liking, and amazing garnishments made it all a wonderful break.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Get real Thai feeling in Stadtmitte”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

A soothing place with friendly and attentive staff. Food is excellent, both in taste and portion. They have open till 11:30 pm on saturday. Thanks for saving our dinner that day!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bideford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“So good we ate there twice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Gem of a restaurant, just around the corner from the tourist bustle at Checkpoint Charlie. Tasty, fresh, Thai cuisine served by charming staff in elegant surroundings for a reasonable price. There is also an inner courtyard, where you may enjoy al fresco dining without the noise of city traffic. I highly recommend this restaurant for a relaxed evening in Berlin.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sisaket (Mao Thai) also viewed

 

Been to Sisaket (Mao Thai)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sisaket (Mao Thai), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.