We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best burger I've ever had, no discussion.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bird

The Bird
Am Falkplatz 5, 10437 Berlin, Germany (Prenzlauer Berg)
+49 30 51053283
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 7,099 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $56
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Prenzlauer Berg
Description: The Bird is a New York style bar and steakhouse, serving undoubtedly Berlin's best steaks and burgers as well as some other stuff.Sauces, dressings, everything is made fresh daily from scratch.
United States of Europe
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best burger I've ever had, no discussion.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Bird is a great little institution in Berlin and I always recommend friends to come here when visiting Berlin. The place is always packed and often quite loud, perfect for a steak and burger place with cheap beer!! Always make a reservation unless you are happy to sit in the bar.

As pointed out by other reviewers before me the fries are ok but not that great. But who cares when, in my opinion, the burgers are the best in the world?! These burgers taste really BBQ'd and are best when served medium rare to rare. Your biggest problem if just passing through Berlin will be to chose which one of the various burgers you are going to order! My tip - The Fat Stingy Gonzales with guacamole, this burger is to die for!!! Other ones that stick out are the The Filthy Harry and the BBQ burger.

The Bird also serves some of the best steaks in Berlin but compared to the burgers the steaks are fairly pricy. Having said that, good quality meat does not come cheap. Simple as that. Personally I always go for the NY Strip when having steak here but have also tried the filet and this is also very nice.

Enjoy!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CitizenOfTellus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best burger I've ever had.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I can't say I fell in love with Berlin while I was there, but this place would certainly be worth going back to!

It's a bit out the way and seems to thrive on the word-of-mouth reviews from locals and tourists alike, I was recommended it over twitter by somewhat of a burger connoisseur! You pretty much have to book here, don't risk leaving it. The service is great and the atmosphere is lively. The chips are good, the wings are good (go for the spiciest), the beer is good (by the jug if you fancy it)...the burgers are ACE.

Go here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hands down the best burger I've ever eaten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The chips are all right, not particularly impressive one way or the other, but good God, this burger is by far the best I've ever eaten—'The Bird' may well have single-handedly bumped Berlin up the list of possible future holiday locations to revisit. The staff was friendly, the atmosphere was busy but pleasant. Their menu has loads of utterly hilarious asides. Well worth the visit!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great fast food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We loved this place, the staff were friendly, the service was great and speedy and the food was delicious. The portions are huge and good value for money. You'll need a reservation though, it was really busy when we went on a Tuesday night so I imagine the weekends are pretty manic.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Huge Burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Great staff, great food and great atmosphere! Ciarán from the Fat Tyre Company recommended we go to The Bird and it was well worth the trip.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank una g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bird also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to The Bird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing