We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was my favourite place to eat in Berlin.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe V

Cafe V
Lausitzer Platz 12, 10997 Berlin, Germany (Kreuzberg)
030 / 612 45 05
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #561 of 5,730 restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Kreuzberg
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“This was my favourite place to eat in Berlin.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I’m not vegetarian, but I went here to try something different. The reviews seemed good, and so we went quite late one evening. It was dark and so we sat inside. The café/restaurant is in an old building which retains an original character.
This is typical Berlin to me, find an old building give it a lick of paint, furnish with some old tables, chairs and lamps, and cool people will come! It was busy, though the waiter still took time to explain to me what Seitan was. I have to say the Seitan curry was fantastic! The bruschetta was great too! Great food, great service, cool ambiance, popular with Berliners.
Just one word of caution, the area close by is very dark at night, since the streetlights seem to be hidden amongst tree foliage. We walked from here towards the next U-Bahn (Shlesisches Tor), though next time I would walk back to the Goerlitzer Bahnhof instead, and recommend others to do the same :-)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    17
    10
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Perfect choice for a group with both vegetarians and non-vegetarians”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is a perfect little restaurant. It is definitely worth the few extra steps from the main roads. It is really cosy and makes you feel at home. We tried about five different dishes, all delicious! Don't worry if you are not a vegetarian, it is very likely you will love Café V anyway.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Vegetarian Restaurant Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

The excellence of the food here, the informal atmoshphere and the delightful service rendered this dining experience one of the best.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami FL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent choice even for non-vegetarians”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011 via mobile

My ds17 and I both enjoyed this place very much. He had the spinach balls/croquettes in a yummy mushroom sauce, and I had one of the non-vegan pizzas. Very fresh and generous portions at reasonable prices. The place is very untouristy, but gets crowded for weekend dinners, as we found out when we tried to go back the following night and couldn't get a table. So best bet is to make a reservation.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Good vegetarian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

Good choice for vegos, especially in spring and summer as it's next to a square/park with outdoor seating. Beware smoke drifting your way, if you’re sensitive though…

Food's generally very good albeit a bit too rich and sometimes a little too salty. On a great day it's excellent and on a lesser day it's still good, though.

What is great is that quite a few of the vegetarian dishes can be made into vegan ones as well, so good selection there to! Also love the weekly menu and the seitan dishes in particular. My particular favorites are still the spinach balls, however :)

Even if you bring omnivores along, there is also fish on the menu which they might enjoy ...

So all round, it’s usually a (very) good experience.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe V also viewed

Berlin, Germany
 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Cafe V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe V, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.