We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Popular but fine restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madchenitaliener

Madchenitaliener
Alte Schonhauser Strasse 12, 10178 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
030 40041787
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #828 of 6,084 Restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $0 - $27
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mitte
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Popular but fine restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

A very popular restaurant with fine, Mediterranean specialities. The food is prepared in a small, show-kitchen, looks simple but sophisticated in the same time. Atmosphere is very nice and the service is professional with a cozy, personal touch. Dinner reservation is recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    33
    10
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Lovely Italian Bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is the kind of neighborhood Italian bistro that can be hard to find in the US. The menu is limited, but the food is great and the service was good.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Decent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Nice restaurant in the central berlin. The pesto spaghetti was tasty and well priced. San lorenzo was similarly good. Was really weird but every person coming in seemed to be young, good looking and female, seems to be a young persons' restaurant. The waitstaff were not really on the ball, and if they'd been more prompt this would be a 5/5.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Limited choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The starter of mixed antipasti was tasty. However, the main course was rather disappointing. It focuses on about six or seven pasta dishes. The truffle pasta was rather disappointing; try and tasteless. The pannacotta was good. Nice selection of wines and beers for a small local restaurant.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brugge, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“superbe Italian pasta in the center of Berlin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

As it started raining and hailing we rushed into this restaurant to have a drink at the bar. All the tables were taken and while sipping our beers we could glance into the kitchen and see the chef prepare some delicious pasta's, which smelled great as the waitresses carried them to the tables. We could witness all ingredients to be absolutely fresh so we decided to expand our drink with a meal.
As we moved to the terrace (incredibly hot inside) there was a mix-up with our order and we had to wait a little bit longer than expected. The two girls serving the resto were also overburdened and a bit stressy, but overall they did a great job.
The wine was tasty and affordable and the pasta as expected: superb. We tried tagliatelli rusticana, mjum.
Despite of the problems with service, a nice experience. Would definitely go back.
If you want to go, definitely book a table.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madchenitaliener also viewed

Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Madchenitaliener? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madchenitaliener, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.