We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madchenitaliener

Madchenitaliener
Alte Schonhauser Strasse 12, 10178 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
030 40041787
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,009 of 6,078 Restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $0 - $27
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Mitte
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Decent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Nice restaurant in the central berlin. The pesto spaghetti was tasty and well priced. San lorenzo was similarly good. Was really weird but every person coming in seemed to be young, good looking and female, seems to be a young persons' restaurant. The waitstaff were not really on the ball, and if they'd been more prompt this would be a 5/5.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    28
    9
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Limited choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The starter of mixed antipasti was tasty. However, the main course was rather disappointing. It focuses on about six or seven pasta dishes. The truffle pasta was rather disappointing; try and tasteless. The pannacotta was good. Nice selection of wines and beers for a small local restaurant.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brugge, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“superbe Italian pasta in the center of Berlin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

As it started raining and hailing we rushed into this restaurant to have a drink at the bar. All the tables were taken and while sipping our beers we could glance into the kitchen and see the chef prepare some delicious pasta's, which smelled great as the waitresses carried them to the tables. We could witness all ingredients to be absolutely fresh so we decided to expand our drink with a meal.
As we moved to the terrace (incredibly hot inside) there was a mix-up with our order and we had to wait a little bit longer than expected. The two girls serving the resto were also overburdened and a bit stressy, but overall they did a great job.
The wine was tasty and affordable and the pasta as expected: superb. We tried tagliatelli rusticana, mjum.
Despite of the problems with service, a nice experience. Would definitely go back.
If you want to go, definitely book a table.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
british columbia, canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“simple good pasta place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

casual with a short menu of good pasta choices. Excellent value with good wine.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Appalling food and service!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

15 minutes wait for a menu. 15 more minutes before the order is taken. The wrong wine is sent - I ordered a 2006 Vapollichella DOC Ripasso - I received a 2010 standard Vallpollichellla. Main course - after having to get up to ask the waiter where it was arrived 45 minutes after the starter plates were cleared!
The food was awful - main course of "Fresh Fig" Taglliatelle was a drenched in a overwelming "sweet and sour"sauce which lacked any subtlety and was inedible.
The Taglliatelle with Prawns and Summer Truffles had no sign of the truffles, the prawns were tasteless and too much lemon was used in the sauce. Why this place is so popular with the locals is beyond me.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madchenitaliener also viewed

 

Been to Madchenitaliener? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madchenitaliener, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.