We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but service wanting...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schneeweiss

Schneeweiss
Simplonstrasse 16, 10245 Berlin, Germany (Friedrichshain)
03029049704
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #252 of 5,480 restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $21 - $28
Cuisines: German, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Friedrichshain
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food but service wanting...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Schneeweiss is as beautiful as everyone says. Food is excellent, and so was the presentation. Only negative was the sour attitude of the waitress. Would have rated it a five if she had been pleasant.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    56
    58
    17
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tisvildeleje, Denmark
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Well-prepared food, friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

High-quality, immaginative food in a very pleasant atmosphere. Good value for the money. We ended up going there twice during a five-day visit!

If you're in the area, go for it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Fresh but a bit over hyped”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Fresh and clean, nice personal, desent food and nice ambient. Did expect a bit more due to the reviews we read in Swedish guide books, and the price level, however recommendable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Englishman in Haarlem (NL)
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fresh and simple styled restaurant with great food and attentive service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We recently ate as a group of 10 at Schneeweiss and had a very nice evening. The food is creative and interesting, whilst retaining the traditions of the South Germanic kitchen. The atmosphere was relaxed and friendly and the servers made us feel welcome and attended to us professionally.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Food was lovely, but service could have been better...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had dinner here on a Saturday night, and after taking a wrong turn, arrived just 10 mins late. They had already called us to check if we were coming! Which i thought was a bit much, usually its 15 minutes before panic time.

The look of the restaurant is nice and modern. And the food was AMAZING! I had flank steak, with purple potatoes, white beetroot, hazelnuts, a few other bits and a truffle sauce/gravy. Was delicious, left me wanting to lick my plate!

The waiter seemed annoyed with us for some reason. I'm not sure if it was because we turned up 10 mins late, because we were English, or maybe he was just really busy. Either way, that would be my only fault to speak of. No complaints on the food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schneeweiss also viewed

 

Been to Schneeweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schneeweiss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.