We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little to stiff for me” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fischers Fritz

Fischers Fritz
Charlottenstrasse 49 | 10117, D-10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
+49 30 20336363
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #153 of 6,085 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $37 - $147
Cuisines: French, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Mitte
Description: As a Michelin 2-star gourmet restaurant, Fischers Fritz is a unique venue in Berlin. On the culinary front, Fischers Fritz offers a distinctive and modern approach to French cuisine with its selection of exquisite fish and seafood delicacies. Simple yet perfect creations and the high quality of fresh ingredients have made this gourmet restaurant at the Regent Berlin a place of pilgrimage for people who enjoy fine food. The elegant surroundings of the restaurant mean that your unique experience of this superb food will be all the more intense.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A little to stiff for me”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

A friends dining here inspired me to recall my own visit in November 2009.... so it's a pretty old review.

Don't get me wrong, it was a wonderful dinner with my wife to celebrate a business acquisition.

Great food & setting... however the staff (then) seemed to be trying to overdo themselves. The staff / patron ratio was about 5 to 1, as there was only another table of 6 that was occupied on our visit. Unfortunately this led to TOO MUCH attentiveness, and distraction.

Hope that has changed, and judging from the reviews it most likely has.

Otherwise a great experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    92
    49
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful meal, incredible flavours and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Had a fantastic meal for 2 here in January 2013. The food was incredible - delicate but with strong flavours. Depth of flavour was consistently great across the elements of all dishes. Couldn't recommend the salt-baked sea bass more highly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Don't get me wrong...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

... "Average" at a two starred Michelin restaurant is still a fairly high score, but so are the expectations when entering the place.

I ordered their "Prestige menu" which consisted of 6 courses. Started up with tatar of sea bass followed by scallops - both dishes nicely executed both in presentation and flavour. For the next two dishes: "Frog legs" and "codfish", it was extremely hard for an untrained eye like mine to see that a michelin chef had been approving these dishes. The main course was actually a dissapointment: According to their website (I don't remember if the printed menu stated differently) they offer a "Roasted codfish" but both the skin- and the flesh side of the fish were soft and without any crust from roasting - and soft fish skin is just a turnoff for me. The star of this plate on this dish was the "onion-cumin-jus" that came with the fish.

Next to the cheeses: A good selection of cheeses were presented to choose from, so if you know what you like this is probably a safe way of doing it.

At the dessert it looked like the chef had returned to the kitchen and a well presented and well thought plate was served. It wasn't a dessert to my taste buds, but I enjoyed it anyway as it looked and tasted like it was made with high standards in mind.

I didn't see the menu as a "walk through the chefs culinary mind" but more like a collection of à la carte dishes that weren't fitted in the most precise way and for that reason the dinner didn't reach "very good" for me.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Like dining in a time pocket”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We visited the restaurant on a quiet sunny Sunday after a long walk. At first sight the restaurant is located in a ugly grey concrete hotel building, but when you enter the actual restaurant is like a trip back in time. Maybe to the 20'es Berlin. The interior, the silver cutlery, the white tablecloths is all adding to a feeling of authentic traditional gourmet dining from when bowler hats and cigars was a must. In my opinion done in a highly charming fashion. The food however, was in no way tired or old fashioned. We had an excellent 3 course lunch menu, which compared to other Michelin star restaurants was of high quality at very decent prices. Next time I am back in Berlin I will definitely visit again, this time for the large Dinner menu. Super experience!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant..our kids loved it too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is one of the best restaurants we've been too, ever. Delicious food, superb and unrushed service, sumptuous if formal decor. Our kids loved our lunch there too, and wanted to go back, but would recommend it for older kids only.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fischers Fritz also viewed

Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Fischers Fritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fischers Fritz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.