We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good selection of sushi and excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ishin Japanese Deli

Ishin Japanese Deli
Hardenberg Strasse 19, 10117 Berlin, Germany
030/20674829
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,027 of 5,828 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Dessert
Starnberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good selection of sushi and excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by a friend who lives in Berlin so we decided to visit it on a recent trip there. Upon entry, you get a bit turned off with the cafeteria-like decor, seating style and noise. However, the sushi selection is quite extensive for the average sushi aficionado. The quality is good but not outstanding and they have some good menu deals which make for very good value for money.

In my experience, there ae very few really good sushi restaurants anywhere in Germany and this one is good but not great. The service is also a bit lacking!

Would definitely go again when I'm next in Berlin.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    60
    9
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great for a quick lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Pack'em'in and sell-it-cheap approach to sushi, and for a quick lunch it's great. Service is good, helped with plentiful green tea, and the prices will be very hard to beat. Yes, it lacks tablecloths, and feels like a school dining room at times, but we really enjoyed our visit which filled us with tasty sushi within a short space of time. The queue out the door was a sign of this place's success.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not for sushi lovers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I came here because it was recommended by Timeout, it was close to my hotel, and I wanted a quick bite before hitting the sites. Upon walking into the restaurant, I knew it was a mistake. Big cafeteria like setting, filled with tourists, and laminated menus. But I didn't have the energy to go searching for another restaurant. Decided to play it safe - just ordered a spicy tuna roll and miso soup. The tuna roll was odd and the soup bland. If you're a sushi lover who is used to San Francisco or LA standards, then don't bother. It's basically what you would get at Safeway. I guess if you're not used to real quality sushi, then this place is probably ok.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good for a cheap lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is good for a quick lunch, if you don't mind a busy place and maybe having to share tables. My German or Japanese is not good but since I only wanted some "regular" sushi it was easy enough to point at the picture on the menu. The sushi was very good for the price, and the tea was included. I would have eaten here again if I'd discovered it before my second last day in Berlin.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Cheap, fresh, but still ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We come here every other month, since Schlossstrasse is not really far from where we live and, it's relatively cheap. Especially if you come Wed or Sat (all day long happy hour tarifs for menues) or any other day before 16.00 (happy hour...). The cooks at the bar and the waitresses are very nice and busy at the same time. There's always a crowd and hard to find more than 2 empty seats within 15 minutes. There's free tea. The atmo is simple but adequate. Anyway, when I left yesterday, I had this feeling of having had enough of fish. Something which usually never happens to me in high standard Japanese places. I am sure it's directly linked to the fact, that more and more Ishin adapts to the German taste: they add mayonaise in their spicy tuna maki, squeeze a dash of mayo over the grilled salmon nigiri etc. I just don't like that.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ishin Japanese Deli also viewed

 

Been to Ishin Japanese Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ishin Japanese Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.