We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most authentic North Indian food in Berlin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amrit

Amrit
Oranienburger Strasse 45, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
030 / 28 88 48 40
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,000 of 6,290 Restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $0 - $441
Cuisines: Indian, Bar, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Mitte
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Most authentic North Indian food in Berlin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The food was amazing and so is the ambience. Very generous portions and authentic north Indian taste.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    101
    43
    17
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great taste, big portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I've been to this place dozens of times for dinner, lunch and even takeaway, and keep on coming back because of its convenient location. The place is always full of people on evenings, while the restaurants on other side of the street are waiting for their first customer. Amrit serves quite nice Indian food that's adapted for more European tastes. If you ask an Indian, the food may not be even close to the real thing, but it sure tastes good, and since the place is so big, especially along with the sister restaurant Mirchi, you hardly ever need a reservation. The portions are huge, and the staff is very friendly for the low Berlin standards.

As one downside, there's some horrible neon lights in the outdoor portion of the restaurant lighting the place up in the evening, but apart from the general tastelessness of the decor, you cannot go too badly wrong with this place. Especially the lamb and shrimp dishes are great. Only really disappointing dishes were those with oyster sauce, way too salty, but the menu is pretty good otherwise.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
260 helpful votes 260 helpful votes
“Share”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Bright, colourfull and inviting from the street. A group of 6 of us went on a Tuesday evening and it was very busy, a mixture of tourists and Berliners. Efficient service. A large open air area, which almost gives the impression of being indoors, not very warm and as it was technically outdoors, used by smokers. We are all curry fans, so we were prepared to be critical. The food was ok, some of the meat a little tough and not especially spicy, having said that it wasnth bad. The portions were very large. Three if shared the starter platter and that was fine. The onion barji starter was also enough for three. The main courses were very large and would easily feed two, Andrew are all big eaters!. Overall good value for money, would have been more so if we'd shared,

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The food here was fresh and delicious. Great value for lunch! Try their mango lassi! The interior was nicely decorated and the presentation of the food was very nice. We're sorry that we found this spot on our last day of vacation, we would have gone back more than once!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The best Indian i have had in a good while”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Visited this place on the first night of a four day sightseeing visit of Berlin. We arrived at the restaurant 15 mins before a huge storm basically trapped us in there for the whole evening. This turned out to be a stroke of luck. The four of us all ate different dishes with the usual naan sides and all thought it was excellent. We had several rounds of drinks and were made to feel welcome and un-rushed. It worked out at about 30 euros each for what turned out to be a 3 hour visit.
fantastic.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amrit also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Amrit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amrit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.