We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and central” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie to your Saves list
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Krausenstrasse 35-36, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
TripAdvisor -15% off
Ranked #11 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Convenient and central”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

We stayed at the Adina Apartment Hotel for a week in early January 2010. There were three of us staying in a two bedroom serviced apartment. There is plenty of space and a well equipped kitchen (full oven, 4 ring cooktop, toaster, kettle, microwave, dishwasher and fridge). All cutlery, crockery and cookware needed to prepare meals for four were provided. The fridge doubled as a mini-bar, but with plenty of room for provisions. The nearby supermarkets (Lidl, one block away and Kaiser three blocks away) have a good range of food with a better range of wine at the Kaiser.
One bedroom had a queen bed (the en-suite room) and there was a king bed in the other bedroom. Each bedroom has an LCD television and the main bathroom has a washing machine and tumble dryer. The sitting room had a dining table for four, a sofa, an armchair, desk and chair.
The nearest U-Bahn stations are a couple of blocks away, with Friedrichstrasse shopping even closer.
The staff were all friendly but not intrusive. We did not eat at the Adina as we sampled a number of Berlin eateries (particularly around Alexanderplatz), but the restaurant had a steady number of diners for both breakfast and dinner.
Internet access was good, but rather expensive at €14.50 per day (wired and wireless are the same price and the Adina recommends the wireless as the wired billing is outside of their control).

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    359
    45
    3
    8
See reviews for
279
595
40
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

The hotel staff are very helpful, and everyone we talked to spoke English. Wi-fi is avaliable by access code cards from the front desk 3 hours of internet access for 3euro50. The buffet breakfast at the hotel has hard boiled eggs, rolls, drinking yogurts, fruits, cheeses, small sausages, juice/coffee/tea and eggs cooked to order. a little pricey- charged to your room bill- but undeniably convenient.

About the room:
The first thing you have to do when you enter the room is put your keycard in a slot to turn on the electricity. The room is modern-looking with grey walls, red curtains, high ceilings, and a view that overlooks the courtyard (see pic).

TVs in both the bedroom and living room. When pulled close, the bedroom blinds really block out the light for a noonday nap. There is a safe deposit box in bedroom closet- swipe your keycard and enter a code.

Best feature, by far is the Kitchenette: oven, stovetop, refrigerator, microwave. Hot water/coffee maker, and dishwasher. The kitchenette sink is shallow and circular. the kitchen cupboards are amply stocked with dishes, pots/pans/spatulas, and a salt shaker. Coca-cola and beer bottles in the tempting mini bar for 3euro each.

Second best feature: the clothes Washer and Dryer! if you can figure out what the settings are by the symbols and german abbreviations. a small basket above the washer/dryer holds detergent tablets. The towel rack doubles as a heated drying rack, and an iron and iron board are also in the laundry closet.

Shower has good pressure, very hot water, and a large tub.
soap/shampoo/conditioner/lotion and toothpaste provided, in case TSA is being strict.

About the surroundings:
Walk across the street to Lidl- reminded me of Grocery Outlet here in the states. Across the street (via pedestrian tunnel) and down one block is another, more organized, grocery store called Kaisers (see pic) Kaisers has a bakery, and one [store] brand of each item. This is where I got my Listerine. And Kinderschocolades.
Another block down is the medical clinic and pharmacy. I hope you won't have to go there but it's nice to know it's so close.
We tried the chinese restraunt next door to Lidl's and thought it tasted... like Chinese! There were a few germanized potato-chinese dishes, but otherwise, as you'd expect. tasty tiramasu ice cream. interesting mechanical self cleaning toilet in the ladies room.

As the hotel website promises, we walked to Checkpoint Charlie, and the souvenir shops, Cafe Einstein, Starbucks, and the Gendarmanmarkt. Since we were visiting in December, the square was filled with tents vending Christmas gifts and treats.

It was a quick walk to the U-bahn station (see pic) and the train system in Berlin is very easy to figure out, and will take you everywhere you want to go for a lot less than a taxi.

We were more than pleased with Hotel Adina, and if we return to Berlin we will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mal
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2009

Staying this hotel for just 1 night,feel so down when check out.If there is a chance retrun ...never have second tough to come back again and again.Room is big and 2 flat screen tv and with mini hi-fi in room...also washing machine and dryer...is really apartmenthotel.Lobby was great,spending 1 week for vacation or business trip is never be too much in this hotel.Breakfast choice so good too,as i mention never regret to stay as this hotel.....Great Job to the GM.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

This hotel was excellent. The staff were very helpful and spoke excellent English, we were upgraded to a one bedroom apartment after booking a studio. Very comfortable bed with very nice linen and comfortable pillows.
The location was perfect for us. We walked everywhere.
No complaints

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMSTERDAM
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

I lived in Berlin 15 years a ago and amazed by how the city has changed and especially the hotels in the old eastern part.
The Adina apartments are very nice with a nice pool , gym and Whirlpool. As I know Berlin pretty well I found it easy to get around.
The rooms and the breakfast are top class. I would recommend this hotel highly . The street itself is quite baron and empty (Berlin has this feeling in general). If you are the sort of traveller that wants to be surrounded by brights and energy Iwould suggest another location. The views from the rooms are not great but the proximity to Checkpoint charlie, Mitte and Kreuzberg are a plus.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

I went on mini-moon with my new wife Audrey and based the hotel choice on reviews on Trip Advisor. I wasn't put off by the negative comments regarding the hotel's location and thank goodness for that.
Yes, it is in the old east sector of the city, and some of the neighbouring streets are a little drab (walls covered in graffiti etc), but at no point did Auds or I feel threatened or unsafe. And, within a five minutes stroll you were on Friedrichstrasse which is one of the main shopping streets in Berlin.
When we arrived at about 6.30pm, we were checked in quickly and efficiently. The room was very spacious with a fully equipped kitchenette, separate (and large) living area with plasma screen and a separate bedroom also with it's own plasma.
There was in-room internet which was chargeable and I think it was a bit pricey.
We went down to the bar for a drink to find it was happy hour (half price drinks). These have been outlawed in Scotland so it was a definite bonus! Martin the barman was very friendly and gave us some tips about what to do and where to go.
The bar area is pretty cool although because the hotel was empty after the Berlin Wall celebrations the previous week there wasn't much atmosphere.
Breakfast is served in the bar/restaurant and there's so much choice it was unbelievable. Try to get a deal that includes breakfast because if you don't it'll cost you 16 euros each which could put a serious dent in your budget. I booked through 1800.com and got a stonking deal.
The waitress was as helpful and friendly as Martin and got out a map to show us how to get from the hotel to various sites like the Brandenburg Gate, the Reichstag etc. Both were a twenty minute walk away, so not far.
Gallery Lafayette also has a store on F-strasse so you can be there in about 10 minutes.
There are some restaurants around, and if you like sausages and food based around pig you'll be happy as a pig in [--]. There is a great (expensive) Italian eaterie on F-strasse called Bocca Di Bacco which is always busy (I'm told by a friend who went there) and that was a really good dining experience.
There is also a spa in the hotel with a narrow pool, gym, sauna and jacuzzi. The only minus about it is that the tiles around the pool are so slippery that it's amazing neither Auds or I ended up on our backsides. Please watch out for this.
All in all I'd thoroughly recommend using the Adina Apartment Hotel and would definitely go back there in future.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

as with previous hotel reviews, great space in the room, clean and comfortable, lovely pool/sauna, convenient location....we found the staff very approachable and helpful. spoke great english and were friendly. would def go again

Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Address: Krausenstrasse 35-36, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#9 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#16 Family Hotel in Berlin
#33 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adina opend in December 2007 in the heart of the historic center of Berlin. Checkpoint Charlie, famous Friedrichstrasse and Gendarmenmarket are just a few steps away. The hotel offers studios and apartments, a restaurant and a spacious wellness area with pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.