We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base to explore the City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie to your Saves list
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Krausenstrasse 35-36, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #9 of 664 Hotels in Berlin
Coventry
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good base to explore the City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Just stayed in a two bedroom apartment with three female friends and we used this as a base to explore the city for 2 days. The apartments are modern and in good condition, just to the south of the city centre in a quiet street. Great showers!

On the same block is a Lidl (useful for wine, bed and basic provisions). The apartments are next to a derelict block of land which looks like it is about to be developed and they are slightly tucked away. The closest tube station is about a 5 minute walk.


There are some provisions in the fridge but these are expensive. (I suggest you bring a small supply of your own tea and coffee)

The apartment was great base to explore the city and not too far from the main sites, It would have been better if it was slightly more central but then again, it would have been far noisier and less relaxing.

The receptionist was warm and friendly with excellent English. We did not make use of the breakfast facilities or the swimming pool or sauna, so we cannot comment what they were like. However, we did make use of the bar! (Which was handy).

Overall a very positive experience and we would recommend the apartments to other travellers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear 2jus,
Thank you so much for your truly great feedback! We are all very happy that your visit to Berlin was such a great experience, also because of our hotel.
I'm also very pleased that you have acknowledged both our team and the facilities in such a nice way. I will personally share your comments with all departments. I wanted to assure you that any feedback is of the highest value to us, so if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.
Kind regards,

Claudia Anderle | Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    298
    35
    2
    8
See reviews for
235
488
35
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My only two negatives would be a communication issue we had with the reception staff when trying to book taxis that'd fit us all, and the lack of cooking utensils in 1 bedroom apartments. Otherwise we loved this place. The kids loved the pool and spa, we loved happy hour. The staff were helpful and mostly friendly, and the rooms were nice, clean, spacious (especially as there were 4 people in 1 bedroom apartments) and the location was exceptional. Would absolutely recommend this.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear tooks_meri,
Thank you for posting your comments regarding your recent stay at the Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie. I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback.

We are all very happy to see that that your stay was enjoyable and that you enjoyed not only the great service, but also the great location and the convenience to have a fully equipped apartment. Sorry for the miscommunication when trying to book a taxi and sorry for the missing items in the kitchen – We will most certainly take it on board and will try to improve as quickly as possible.
We would be very happy to welcome you and your family at the hotel again and will endeavour to ensure that your next visit will be as enjoyable as the one that you have described above.
Warm regards,
Claudia Anderle | Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

When we walked in to our 2-bedroom apartment it was a WOW moment. It really is a very classy place. The 2 bedroom apartment t had high ceilings - floor to floor windows in each room and it was really spacious.
I would definitely stay again but there a couple of things that irked me a little - it was fairly expensive being that it cost us around $370U per night I thought Internet was included. It wasn't, however it was luckily only €7.50 per 12 hr block that as many devices as you wanted could use - in 2 nights we did not exhaust this. However, and something maybe for the Adina to think about breakfast and WIFI for that price should be included. I pay less than that for other hotels in the world and not only get this but also happy hours with canapé etc. they also charged for powder for the washing machine which I think should also be free for the price.

I however did love this hotel - it had a washer/dryer and a full kitchen that allowed us to cook etc. one morning I cooked bacon n eggs for my daughters bday and being we had to leave early I ended up (whoops) not doing the dishes - the cleaner put all these in the dishwasher and did the load for us - great service!!!!!
It was just beautiful the apartment, clean and very secure being you had to use a key for the lifts. Staff at reception were very good but I would suggest having a separate line for people just asking simple questions as frustrating lining up behind people checking in.
It was in a great location and really quiet which suprised me.
Two metro stops in close range as well as supermarkets to stock your fridge. Only a few blocks away was checkpoint charlie. We always safe in this area even when walking at night.
It is a beautiful hotel and I would stay again (this time was for a special occasion)
Berlin is such an amazing place

Room Tip: 2 bedroom was terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear jacks24,

Thank you so much for you candid Trip Advisor positing! It was truly delightful reading you found the Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie the perfect place to stay for your special occasion.

I was glad that the apartments met your requirements in space and convenience. Also, it was tremendous to read your comments about the Team with in particular a special mention to the cleaner´s performance! Each day they do their utmost to exceed our guest’s expectations and I am glad you experienced this.

Thank you also for your constructive comments on how we could improve. Please be assured we take all feedback seriously and will discuss further.

Dear jacks24, once again, we are very grateful for your positive feedback and we are looking forward welcoming you back upon your next visit to Berlin.

Take care and all the best,
Claudia Anderle | Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount warrigal
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Really big comfortable room, good location to go to checkpoint Charlie, museums and lowenbrau all walking distance, we walked to the gate but that was a mission - bus is a good idea. Staff were friendly, service was good, overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Hayley A,
Thank you for your recent review of Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, we really appreciate the time you have taken to write it and your fantastic comments.
I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be the perfect location to explore Berlin.
I will share your feedback with the team and hope we will see you again when you are next in town!
Best regards,
Claudia Anderle| Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here at the start of September, the hotel is great andlocation is perfect for tourists. The apartments are very spacious and there are two tvs in the room. The pool downstairs and gym were very handy. The only downfalls would be the price of the wifi and breakfasts in the hotel. Overall, however I would recommend it and will return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear lovethesuna,
Thank you so much for your candid review here on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay in our spacious and fully equipped Apartments. The extra space certainly ensures a convenient and more comfortable stay for all of our guests.
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
Warm regards,
Claudia Anderle| Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had a two bedroomed apartment on the first floor.It was very well equiped and clean. We stayed for five nights and found it to be a great base to explore the city. We were room only as we had a good kitchen area where we ate breakfast. There were plenty of restaurants nearby to choose from and supermarkets if you prefered to eat in. The apartment can be cleaned daily if you leave a card hanging on the door. The bed linen was changed every 3rd day. We used the pool every day however it was very cold but the children did not mind the temperature. There was also a sauna and jacuzzi. There is also a secure undreground car park which we used at a cost of 18 euros a day. The staff were very helpful.We would return to this hotel without hesitaion.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear melCumbria,
My Team and I were delighted to read your Trip Advisor feedback in relation to your recent stay with us. In particular your comments about the Team were tremendous to read and a great acknowledgement to them meeting your expectations. I will make sure this is shared with the full Team. Also I was glad that you found the facility nice with plenty of space but also enjoyed the facilities like the kitchen, gym and pool. Our location is second to none and I am thrilled that this aided to you enjoyable stay with us.
It would be our pleasure to welcoming you and your family again in the near future and are always happy to assist for future booking requests.
Best regards,
Claudia Anderle| Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed for 4-nights across a weekend and loved this hotel. The apartments are exceeding well appointed with everything you need. The kitchen is ideal for breakfast and snacks (you could cook bigger meals if required) and it was very spacious. There is a Liddell shop and also a bakery within 300 mtrs , which was perfect for buying breakfast and the lovely fresh German rolls - yum! The nearest U-Bahn (Spittelmarkt) was just 5-mins walk and perfect getting around. Checkpoint Charlie was an easy walk and it's about a 15-min walk to the Bundestag and Brandenburg Gate. The staff were superb and could not have been more welcoming and helpful, some of best we have experienced. WiFi is available in the room and although it appeared expensive at first, you are only paying when you connect, so a 12-hour connection for €7.50 could last 4-5 days. We used the free WiFi in the lobby, which had some nice comfortable sitting areas, so was easy to use. Overall, this is a top- quality hotel/apartment that would be hard to beat and is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Not on a busy street so any room works
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear twoteapots,
The Team and I were delighted reading your Trip Advisor posting and that you found the hotel “superb” and “hard to beat”! It is great you took advantage of the combination of price, location and facility and that this met your expectations in all areas. The special mention of the Team is a great acknowledgement of their work and dedication to make each guests stay enjoyable and memorable. It is the little things such as a smile that can make a difference and I am glad that you experienced this consistently throughout your stay.
Thank you once again for your candid and kind review and the Team and I are looking forward to welcoming again upon your next visit to Berlin.
Best regards,
Claudia Anderle| Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Address: Krausenstrasse 35-36, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#15 Family Hotel in Berlin
#21 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adina opend in December 2007 in the heart of the historic center of Berlin. Checkpoint Charlie, famous Friedrichstrasse and Gendarmenmarket are just a few steps away. The hotel offers studios and apartments, a restaurant and a spacious wellness area with pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.