We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation with extremely pleasant staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Save Saved
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 11 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Krausenstrasse 35-36, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 663 hotels in Berlin
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great accommodation with extremely pleasant staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We booked the 2 studio rooms and were upgraded to 2 suites which we were all delighted about. I cannot praise the staff highly enough. Always more than happy to help with anything and all spoke excellent English. Being situated at Checkpoint Charlie it was very central and within walking distance to a lot of the sites. Would highly recommend this Apartment Hotel and if returning to Berlin would definitely use it again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear bonnamassa,
Thank you so much for your candid review. It was with great pleasure to read this feedback and that the quality of the hotel surpassed all expectations as well as your compliments to the Team. I will share this with the Team and I am sure they will be delighted to be mentioned in your review. We are looking forward welcoming you back to the hotel upon your next visit to Berlin.
Best regards from Berlin to Scotland,
Claudia Anderle & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    655
    283
    31
    2
    8
See reviews for
179
394
30
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Our stay in Adina Berlin was one of our best experiences of our honeymoon trip in Europe. The location is quiet and only 10-15 min walk from the shopping district and the museum island. They knew that it was our honeymoon and upgraded us to a 1 Bedroom Premier Apartment, which even included a full kitchen. The people there were so much fun and really cared about us. On the last night when we returned to the hotel, we found out that our housekeeper accidentally threw our limited edition Coke bottles’ caps away that we bought from KaDeWe. We told Stefan, the staff at the front desk on the night-shift, about it and he immediately went through the day’s garbage for us, but it was too late and lost. Knowing that we will be leaving the following afternoon, he personally went to KaDeWe during his free time in the morning and bought 2 new Coke bottles. When we saw him again in the afternoon, he opened the 2 bottles and gave us the brand new caps. We will definitely stay here when we visit Berlin again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Karen,
thank you so much for your great feedback. What can I say - reading your review makes me very proud as providing the best customer service possible is what the Team strives every day to achieve and it is just fantastic that you have mentioned Stefan and his great efforts. I will share your comment in our next team meeting and as well with our mother company in Australia. Dear Karen, we are very happy that we were one of the highlights of your honeymoon trip and that we assisted in making this trip a memorable one. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon in Berlin!
Best regards,
Claudia Anderle & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband travelled here in April and we were so so pleased with the hotel when we arrived. It was easy to find and in a great location, 10 minute walk to mainly everything! We loved it and couldn't believe how big our studio room was. Very spoilt considering it wasn't much money at all, defiantly would stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Sarah64B,
thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted that we could not only meet but as well exceed your expectations. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon in Berlin! Please contact us direct and we will assist with your booking request.
Take care and all the best,
Claudia Anderle & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nordfjordeid, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We were very satisfied with the hotel, the room and the staff. When we had a problem with the electricity in the kitchen, we were immediately given a more expensive apartment at the same price as our room. The hotel was within walking distance of everything we wanted to see.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Jarle U,
thank you for taking your time to provide us with your valued feedback. Especially your comment about our team and the way they are dealing with occuring challenges makes us very proud. We hope to welcome you soon back at Adina Checkpoint Charlie. Best regards,
Claudia Anderle & Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed in a 2-bedroom apartment for 4 nights in late April. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and in good condition. The small kitchen was adequate for breakfast & informal evening meals (i.e. not involving too much cooking), and the refrigerator was roomy. There is a 24-hour supermarket nearby, and the location is generally convenient for doings in the eastern part of the city.

Noise could be an issue under some conditions. There is a large construction sight right next to the hotel, which is rackety from early morning throughout the day. Traffic from nearby Leipzigerstrasse carries over an open space to the north. However, with windows closed and during the night the place is quiet enough.

Given the quality of the establishment, we thought it good value.

Room Tip: The northern and western side get most of the noise from traffic and building works, though we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear RossManchester,
thank you so much for your great feedback. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would be delighted if we have the opportunity to welcome you soon back. For your next stay we can allocate you a room facing our quiet and green inner courtyard. It is like an oasis in the middle of the city – a good sleep even with windows open is guaranteed.
Best regards from Berlin,
Claudia Anderle & Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jettenbach germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

It was nice to have as much room as we did. There were 4 of us staying in the hotel. One suggestion that I would give is that right across the street is a parking lot for some apartments. If you go through that the building on your immediate right has a nice size grocery store in it and a euro store. We were able to get items for breakfast there and that saved a few euro. The location was great and a couple of blocks around the corner from checkpoint charlie. We ate dinner in the hotel the night we arrived. We had a long day traveling and arrived during happy hour. So relaxing. They have a kids menu which was also a bonus. The pool was very nice and I loved staying in the hot tub while I watched my girls swim. If we go back to Berlin this would be my first choice of where to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Liz K,
thank you so much for your positive feedback. It makes us very happy to read that you had a fantastic stay and that we could exceed your expectations. We are looking forward to welcome you and your family soon back at Adina Checkpoint Charlie! You can contact us direct for your next reservation and we will ensure your next stay is as positive as this one.

All the best,
Claudia Anderle & Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Adina in Mitte for 4 nights. This is a brand new apartment hotel with very spacious accommodation that includes a lounge area, well equipped kitchen and laundry. It is centrally located within 10 minutes walk from the Mitte U-bahn station and the attractions around Checkpoint Charlie. We purchased 3-day public transport passes but found that many attractions were within walking distance. Hotel staff were always attentive, helpful and friendly. We could not fault this hotel for anything (except perhaps for the fact that they still charge for wifi internet access). Recommended.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudiaAnderle, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Matrelli

thank you so much for your wonderful feedback, we really appreciate the time you have taken to share your experiences.
You have pointed out all aspects Adina prides itself for: very spacious rooms, contemporary interior design and most of all a friendly and helpful team!

We hope we will see you again when you are next in Berlin – or perhaps in one of our sister hotels across Europe, Australia and New Zealand.

Kind regards,
Claudia Anderle & Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Also Known As:
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin
Address: Krausenstrasse 35-36, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Berlin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#20 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adina opend in December 2007 in the heart of the historic center of Berlin. Checkpoint Charlie, famous Friedrichstrasse and Gendarmenmarket are just a few steps away. The hotel offers studios and apartments, a restaurant and a spacious wellness area with pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Escapio, EasyToBook, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.