We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for weekend city break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie to your Saves list
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Krausenstrasse 35-36, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
TripAdvisor -15% off
Ranked #10 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great for weekend city break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is a great venue for a group of friends taking a city break. We were a group of 3 and it is sometimes difficult to get appropriate hotel accommodation as we prefer to have a triple room. The Adina apartments were perfect because we got a one bedroom apartment with a nice, comfortable living room and kitchen, including spare bed.
It was great to have the luxury of a proper fridge - and there's a small supermarket 2 minutes walk away. We were somewhat disappointed that the bedroom contained a double bed, not twins, but that was outweighed by the comfort of the bed itself. I can honestly say we slept like logs - must have been all the German beer!
The location is good - 5 minutes walk from Checkpoint Charlie and very close to Gendarmenmarkt, where there was a choice of good restaurants. The street itself was very quiet though and not very well lit. We were intrigued by the large apartment blocks on the street, but there were very few people and cars around - a real throwback to communist days, although the apartment blocks looked like they had been reclad in recent years in a more western style.
We didn't even visit the spa, so I can't comment on that. We also opted not to have breakfast (€15 if you pay when booking or €19 otherwise). However, we did get good coffee and pastries on the first day for €8.
The staff were super-friendly and helpful and the taxi service was also great. Ask reception to order you a taxi and one will arrive within seconds.
I'd definitely recommend the Adina Apartment Hotel at Checkpoint Charlie for a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a one-bedroom apartment if you are a group of 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirkLoeb, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear ShoopShoop,

Thank you very much for taking your time to provide us with your valued feedback. Our entire team at Adina Checkpoint Charlie is glad you found the hotel´s location, the space and the furniture of the apartment to your liking.
Especially your comments about the comfort of our beds are appreciated, as a solid sleep is the most important thing when travelling!
For your next stay, just let us know prior to arrival if you wish to have twin beds in the room, as we can set this up in all rooms. I am sorry we were not aware of this matter during your last stay as we would have loved to change it for you.

Dear ShoopShoop, we hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Kind regards from Berlin,

Claudia Anderle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    826
    357
    43
    3
    8
See reviews for
278
590
40
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I like staying in apartment hotels and I booked this hotel based on the excellent reviews. The reviews were spot on. We were checked in with no problem, after booking online. The reception staff were incredibly helpful with additional information or assisting with requests.

The apartment is lovely - nicely decorated, great size, clean and incredibly comfortable. The kitchen was adequately equipped for meals and there is a grocery store within less than a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel also had a wonderful gym, pool and sauna. This was a great luxury after a full day of touring!

The hotel location was fantastic. It is about a 5 minute walk to the metro. I also enjoyed walking from the hotel to the main tourist attractions including Checkpoint Charlie, the Jewish Museum, Linden Street, Brandenburg Tor and Museum Island.

The hotel does not offer free wifi. It is available for purchase however I also had difficulty logging off and back on. It would be much easier if this was available free of charge to guests.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel for all. We travelled with a small child but it would be great for anyone. If I am able to come back to Berlin, I will be staying here again!

Room Tip: We loved our room. Given that it was cold we had no need for a balcony although in the warmer months...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirkLoeb, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased to read that you found our location perfect being on the doorstep of main tourist attractions and within walking distance to everything Berlin has on offer.
We are also happy to see that you enjoyed your apartment and that the team was friendly and helpful throughout your stay.
We would like to thank you as well for your suggestions about the Internet. We are currently in contact with our Internet Provider to have these technical issues solved as soon as possible.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Berlin!

All the best and hope to see you soon,
Claudia Anderle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Engelhartszell, Austria
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I spent about one week in Berlin with my wife, on a mix of business and leisure. Our stay at the Adina was overall an excellent experience, with spacious rooms, very helpful staff, and a lively and cozy atmosphere (e.g. fireplace in the lobby). All major attractions are a comfortable walk away, and the hotel's location, although so central, is still very quiet. A supermarket and other stores are literally just around the corner.

This said, we were a little disappointed that our parking space in the hotel's underground garage, booked in advance, was not available during the first two days of our stay. Apparently cars which are not entitled to enter make their way in, and since the garage is very small, it is almost impossible to "escape" once you are inside. Adina staff, do something about this!! We switched to street parking with a pass provided by the hotel, and were pleased to find that it was not difficult to find a space in the streets surrounding the hotel. Overall, a small nuisance which did not change our overall very positive impression.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirkLoeb, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear krugerfriend,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments on your recent stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie.

The Team here is glad that you enjoyed all the facilities around the hotel, the spaciness of our apartments and the lively and cozy atmosphere.

We have taken your feedback on board about the pre-booking procedure for our car park and all front office team members are controlling the entry to the car park more thoroughly to ensure only entitled cars have access.

Dear krugerfriend, thank you so much once again, we appreciate you taking your time to provide us with your comments and we look forward to welcoming you soon in the near future!

Best regards from the Adina Team,

Claudia Anderle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Adina at Checkpoint Charlie is superb.

We stayed for a week and were upgraded from a studio to a 1 bed apartment at check in which was just such a nice gesture and made us really happy. The whole hotel is well furnished, the choice of fixtures and fittings is of an excellent standard and all of the staff were exemplary. The location is superb, don't be put off by anyone saying the street is dimly lit, you'll find most of Berlin nicely lit as such, rather than the terrible light pollution of many cities and it's a really safe place besides. The apartment is situated in the old east part of the city (just) so the street has some excellent examples of social housing from the former DDR, as too the supermarket across the way and some other developments on Leipziger Strasse.

If I were being really picky I'd say that the Adina has two areas to improve upon: firstly the cost of Wi Fi or even being charged for it at all in 2012 is something of a relic. It's pretty standard all over the world for Wi Fi to be included in your room cost and given the horrendous roaming charges from UK mobile carriers it's ordinarily a welcome relief. For an establishment of this standard to make it billable seems odd. You get a Siemens dishwasher but you don't get Wi Fi.

Also, given a huge number of visitors must be from the UK given the Expedia/Last Minute connection (among others) I was surprised there's no UK flag outside? A minor point but noticeable nonetheless.

These minor points aside, the Adina Checkpoint Charlie is a fantastic place to stay. They also make a terrific whisky sour. Have one!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirkLoeb, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Moo 1971,

many thanks for your posting on Tripadvisor.

Your comments are very positive and we will be reviewing the internet situation too. A quick update on our flags. We appreciate and enjoy welcoming all our guests from international destination. The flags outside our hotel are for the countries where we have Adina Hotels (Hungary, Denmark, Germany and Australia) in addition to the Berlin Flag and the European Union Flag. I hope this explains it.

Anyway, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best and kind regards,


Dirk Löb
General Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel
Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Krausenstrasse 35-36
10117 Berlin
Germany

T: +49 30 200 7670 F: +49 30 200 767 599
Reservations: +49 30 200 767 555
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mülheim
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here with the family for 3 nights. Great location to walk around in the Eastern part of Berlin. Separate sleeping room made much life easier with the kids. Unfortunatley the bar was not frequented very well, even if the service was very charming here. Clean, absolute sufficient size of the room, pool at basement was great for swimming in the morning and all the staff was nice and service orientated. Certainly we will return! The only difficult thing is the hotels parking garage -a real challenge with a bigger car....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirkLoeb, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Golfomanic,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie.
I am pleased to read that you found the location of the hotel to be perfect and our rooms to be tidy, clean and nicely decorated. As you have mentioned, our Apartments are just perfect when travelling with children, as they have separate bedrooms.

Thank you also for your comments in regards to the service and the friendliness of our team - I will make sure this is passed onto them. They can be very proud!

I agree that the car park can be a challenge with a bigger car. For your next visit, we can provide you with a pass for street parking. You will be pleased to find out that it is not difficult to find a space in the streets surrounding the hotel.

Dear Golfomanic, the entire team would love to welcoming you and your family back at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie.

Kind regards,
Claudia Anderle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The location is excellent, close to everything but in a quiet back street. The rooms are brilliant and breakfast is very good. The staff are very helpful. We really enjoyed our stay. Lidl is just across the road and Checkpoint Charlie is a 5 minute walk.

Room Tip: We had a studio on the 5th floor and this was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirkLoeb, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Adders,

thank you very much for your splendid and favourable evaluation on www.tripadvisor.de.
It was a pleasure for us to accommodate you in our hotel and we would be pleased to host you again at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie.

Best regards,

Claudia Anderle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We are just back from our four night stay and can really recommend the hotel. The suite was clean and well equiped, the pool wasn't exceptionally warm but the right temperature for swimming and the staff were friendly and helpful. The only faults were that the restaurant is too small for the breakfast rush and we were put on a " waiting list" for a table one morning. And i do think that wifi should be offered for free - as it is, it is overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirkLoeb, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Tanja L.,

On behalf of the Team from the Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie I would like to thank you for your great feedback in relation to your recent stay with us.

It was with great pleasure to read that you thorougly enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our Team helpful and friendly. I will pass on your comments to them as they can be very proud of themselves.

Thank you for your comments about the size of the breakfast room. On busy days, we set up breakfast in our inner courtyard or alternatively on days with bad weather in one of our meeting rooms to ensure our guests do not have to wait. Wifi in the rooms is not free of charge, but it is provided at no costs in our restaurant Alto or at the public internet terminal in the lobby.

Dear Tanja L, we hope to see you and your family soon again at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie!

All the best,
Claudia Anderle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Address: Krausenstrasse 35-36, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#9 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#16 Family Hotel in Berlin
#33 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adina opend in December 2007 in the heart of the historic center of Berlin. Checkpoint Charlie, famous Friedrichstrasse and Gendarmenmarket are just a few steps away. The hotel offers studios and apartments, a restaurant and a spacious wellness area with pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.