We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Babel – an affordable Lebanese oasis in Prenzlauer berg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Babel

Babel
Kastanienallee 33, 10435 Berlin, Germany (Prenzlauer Berg)
Improve this listing
Ranked #242 of 5,730 restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Lebanese, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Prenzlauer Berg
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Babel – an affordable Lebanese oasis in Prenzlauer berg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This restaurant is busy and popular for its Middle East and Lebanese cuisine and it is definitely affordable. We have been here numerous times and you can be sure it is the same good standard of food and services you get every time. Try the Babel plate, if you are hungry – plenty of different and tasty middle east dishes – or share it with someone. Babel is a self-service restaurant but you do get very good service from the staff. It is a very relaxed place and it fits nicely into the atmosphere of Kastanienallee in Prenzlauer berg. Here you meet both locals and tourists. This place is usually busy. During summer most people prefer to sit outside, in wintertime and cold weather you have to get inside and will find very limited space for seating but we always managed to get seated – just be a bit patient, it is worthwhile.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    46
    38
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Very cozy restaurant. We walked by and were tempted by the sea of flowers at the tables and the wonderful smells from the kitchen. We had the Babel platter, which was way too much food for two people (21 €). Everything tasted delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Lebanese in hip/gritty Prenzlauerberg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I stopped in for a casual lunch during a recent Berlin vacation. He ordered the falafel wrap and I had the grilled Haloumi and hummus plate with a salad. We enjoyed picking on each other's dishes. The flavors are bright and fresh and we appreciated the variety of veggies and little touches on the plate - radishes, fresh lettuces, garlic sauce, spicy paste, a sprinkling of dried oregano, and pomegranite seeds.

We managed to successfully order using from the counter using the menu with limited German (our native language is English) -- then we sat outside and picnicked at the exterior tables! Highly recommend and very affordable and casual (3-10 euros).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genève, Suisse
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Avoid or chose your food wisely”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

If you are looking for real middle eastern tastes, simply dont go there. The hummus is under average, baba ganush tasteless. Staff don't speak a single word of English. The meats and falafel were good, meat was fesh, while falafel were not cooked to demand and seemed to have been lying there already for a while already. If you are looking for really good middle eastern food in Berlin, this is not the right place. But for a late night kebab, why not...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendrisio
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Easy place, nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

we were just walking down Kastanienalle and noticed lot of people outside this small self-service lebanese restaurant. We deceided to enter and take some food. Great choice!! Food was fantastic ... we had some hummus, tabbuleh and falafel. During the summer you can sit down outside. The place inside is very small. Overall worth for something quick.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babel also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Babel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Babel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.