We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to chill and unwind” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yaam

Yaam
Stralaur plats | Stralaur Alle', 10997 Berlin, Germany (Friedrichshain)
30-617 5959
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #338 of 6,290 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: African, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Friedrichshain
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to chill and unwind”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Visited after it was recommended by some locals. So glad we went, it's unusual and unlike anything I've visited before. There is a wonderful mixture of people and really chilled out atmosphere. Make sure you head down to the river side where you can sit on deck chairs drinking cheap beer for hours. Really great place to waste away an evening, enjoy Berlin as a local and enjoy a bit of reggae music.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    21
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A bit different ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Popped in out of curiosity ... sandy beach in the middle of Berlin .... not impressed with the bumba claat comment from one of the resident entourage tho' on entry after I'd dropped my jacket and thanked him with a thumbs up sign!

1 euro for a Corona beer and 1 euro for a badge (returnable) as a deposit... not cheap !
DJ playing drum n bass was ok tho ....

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best place to hang out in Berlin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I have just returned from a Stag weekend in Berlin and we must have spent about 50% of our time here!

If the weather is good there is no place better, cheap drinks, sandy beaches, great african and jamaican food on offer, chilled raggae music and a real relaxed atmosphere all around. Located at the end of the east side gallery so an ideal place to stop off for a drink once you have walked along the wall. There are some horrible rumours that this place is under threat from developers, so i urge anyone going to Berlin to visit this place while they can, and do their bit to support this unique and fantastic place

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
2 reviews
“Great hangout!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Great ambience, jamaican and african food, good music, sand under your feet- a perfect place to chill!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A gem representing all that is good about Berlin, that must be preserved”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

our tour guide suggested that my firiend and I pop in for a drink, as we were at the eastside gallery. A hot May afternoon, Bob Marley playing and a pina colada in my hand, very chilled. it was so good to sit there after having toured around the city and just let your mind relax. outside the city was bustling but its like a little oasis of calm. It would be a travisty if it is knocked down to make way for a devleopment of luxury flats! Yaam represents all that is good about Berlin, relaxed, diverse, great atmosphere, value for money and not in your face. I would love to go back and lie in one of the hammocks. We didnt have any food, but it looked very good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yaam also viewed

Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Yaam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yaam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.