We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Margherita, 9.5 EUR. WORST PIZZA EVER” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Paparazzi

Trattoria Paparazzi
Husemannstrasse 35, 10435 Berlin, Germany (Prenzlauer Berg)
30-440 7333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,189 of 5,980 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Prenzlauer Berg
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Margherita, 9.5 EUR. WORST PIZZA EVER”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Before starting with the free floating hostility, let me just introduce my self:
I am Italian and I am living/working in Berlin, and I have tried all the Italian Restaurant/Pizzeria in Prenzlauer Berg (of course I did, I am Italian :)

This is, by far, the worst pizza-experience ever and let me tell you why:
1. Customer Experience: one of the waitress kept staring at us constantly. Unless you are a peeker, you would not feel comfortable!
2. Price: Is far to high compared to what you get. I spent 17.20 EUR for a Margherita, a Beer and one Bruschetta (i mean literally one). But ehi, dont get me wrong, the beer was good :)...
3. Food Experience: The dough of the Pizza was pre cooked (like the one you get from the supermarket). What they do is this: they let you pay 9.50 EUR for a pizza that they do not prepare. Pretty smart, uh?

Alternatives/Suggestions:
For a meaningful and playful pizza, you should try Papà Pane di Sorrento in Ackerstraße 23.
But ehi, if you wanna try Paparazzi, please go ahead.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Italian food "with a twist"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We chose to have dinner at Trattoria Paparazzi after having read a review in a travel magazine . Well, I must say it was an experience ! If you are expecting a typical Italian trattoria don't go there. But if you are looking for something to remember, then by all means do go ! The food is good , the dishes are Italian recipes "with a twist". Tastefull, simple dishes presented in a nice, almost homely manner. Pizza is very good . Service was very good - a hectic Italian was running up and down , was very friendly and efficient . The customers were mainly locals , which is always a good sign . If you make a reservation , ask to be seated in the main hall, which is simple and cozy . Because we had no reservation, we were seated in a smaller adjacent room which was a bit spooky ! However, this added to the experince, and made our Paparazzi dinner, a night to remember !

  • Visited December 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Not worth the wait”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We were a group of three one of whom spoke fluent Italian having lived for many years in Italy. We reserved a table for 8 o'clock and arrived quite promptly and were immediately struck by the rather dreary decor.
The waiter was friendly and engaged in some banter in Italian with our friend. He took our order - we just ordered mains, water and wine - and the drinks were served quite quickly. Then we waited and waited and waited. We saw other customers arrive and be served and we asked several times where our food was and were told it would be five minutes. Finally, having waited nearly an hour and a half, a basket of bread appeared followed immediately by our food. Why would we want bread with main courses? It would have been good to stave off the hunger pangs while we were waiting but not now. We wondered if we were given low priority in the kitchen because we had only ordered mains and a carafe of wine (as opposed to some very expensive bottles of wine on the menu).

Our Italian-speaking friend said her pasta was very good and an unusual combination, and the veal scallopini the other two of us ordered was OK but not exceptional. Moving on to desserts the strawberry tiramisu was not, in our view, a tiramisu at all. It was a light strawberry and cream sponge cake with no perceptible taste of any liquor.

Altogether a disappointing evening with absolutely no apology at any time for our long wait. And note that this restaurant doesn't take credit cards.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We came here with my in-laws after finding it online. Even though we found some great reviews online, I was a little concerned because the reviews were somewhat old and the restaurant seemed empty. Not to worry, though. They served great Italian food, and we've all been to Italy enough to tell the difference. The service was also great. The server worked with us and we used a combination of German, Italian, and English, to communicate. The prices were good and the wine selection suited our needs. The decor is a bit cheesy but that really wasn't what we were there for anyway.

  • Visited November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We had to wait too long, and then a burned pizza. How difficult can it be?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

The quality of the food was OK. However we had to wait for the 4 pizza's for one hour and a quarter. And when the pizza finally arrived, one of them was burned completely black.

The staff wasn't prepared for a busy night at Saturday evening.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Paparazzi also viewed

Berlin, Germany
 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Trattoria Paparazzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Paparazzi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.