We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SAIGON and more...

SAIGON and more...
Geisbergstrasse 12 | Ecke Ansbacher Strasse, 10777 Berlin, Germany (Schöneberg)
+49 30 23626090
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 5,944 Restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $4 - $16
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Schöneberg
Munich, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The restaurant was really cosy, the ambience was great! The owner is this really friendly guy who makes you feel right at home. You can tell most of their patrons are locals, and loyal! The food was good, but the experience was better!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    163
    37
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“TEN STAR EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Saigon and More is a cozy little Vietnamese restaurant a few blocks from the hotel. The food is absolutely phenomenal. The service is the best. The owner is a friendly man from Turkey who has two Vietnamese chefs to cook the authentic meals. He is super friendly and warm. He spent so much time sitting at our table chatting with us and making us laugh. I have never had this type of service before. He made our experience so pleasant. I would rate the service TEN stars if I could!

For appetizers, I love the rice paper rolls with basil, mint, rice noodles, eggs, carrots, sprouts and prawns. They were served with a warm and spicy peanut sauce, which was fresh and tasty. I also love the fried spring rolls with glass noodles, chicken, mushrooms and vegetables. Both of these rolls are unique and flavorful.

For dinner, my favorite dish is the Com chien - roasted rice. This is served with chicken, egg, Chinese cabbage, broccoli, sprouts, mint, and chives with a traditional Vietnamese sauce. This dish is filled with so many different flavors. It is one of the most unique dishes I have ever had.

The Bun bo xao xa - chicken on rice noodles is good too if you like noodles. The chicken is marinated with lemon grass and red curry and served on rice noodles, fresh salad and sprouts. It is seasoned with Nuoc mam sauce as well as roasted peanuts, onions, basil and mint.

Overall, I would rate the restaurant ten star if it was possible. I had an absolutely superb experience at Saigon and more!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good, but over rated.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The first courses were excellent. Recommended to take the combination. The main courses were ok, nothing too special. We gave up desserts because there was nothing interesting. The owner is really nice, but we had to get up and ask for dessert menu after we finished. Overall - a nice restaurant if you're in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and great service...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had a wonderful dinner the last night of our weekend in Berlin at this restaurant. The food was amazing, the service was great, and it was filled with locals. I would definitely recommend a reservation because it is a very popular place. We will definitely return to the restaurant the next time we are in Berlin.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Ate here on the first night of our Berlin trip after searching on TA for restaurants to try & glad we did. It was about a 10 minute walk from our hotel, but easy to find.

We didn't book a table, but did get there for just after 6.30pm on a Wednesday & were seated straight away. The owner was lovely, came over to talk to us & made us feel very welcome.

Food was fab! We shared a starter platter - crispy spring rolls were so good, we could have eaten lots of them & the dipping sauce I had was so tasty! Mains were crispy duck & rice & my husband had the chicken curry rice dish. Both were huge, so definitely make sure you go there hungry. Watch out for the red sauce with the starter platter if you don't like really spicy things, it's hot :)

Great value for money - 1 shared starter platter, 2 large mains & 2 drinks came to less than 40 euros for both of us.

Would definitely come back again!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SAIGON and more... also viewed

 

Been to SAIGON and more...? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SAIGON and more..., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.