We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Vietnamese food at a low price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SAIGON and more...

SAIGON and more...
Geisbergstrasse 12 | Ecke Ansbacher Strasse, 10777 Berlin, Germany (Schoneberg)
+49 30 23626090
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 6,040 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $16
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Schoneberg
Cheltenham
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Excellent Vietnamese food at a low price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This wonderful Vietnamese restaurant is off the beaten track but well worth seeking out. It is not smart or trendy - in fact it has a slightly worn look - but the food is outstanding. Nothing on the menu is more than 9 euros (and that is for the main courses). It is well supported by Berliners, who clearly love it and visit on a regular basis because of its excellent value. The owner (who also waited at the tables) is a charismatic Turk, who adores Vietnamese food and has owned the restaurant for 10 years. He is part of the character of the restaurant, sitting down and chatting with all his customers with great charm and enthusiasm, and happy to adapt anything on the menu to individual likes and dislikes. He has achieved a great lifestyle - a bustling and successful restaurant which he wants to keep small so he can enjoy it and also enjoy his free time. It was pretty full, even on a cold mid-week evening, which is a testament to its reputation.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    174
    40
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food, interesting service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

this restaurant is seemingly known by Berliners for its good Vietnamese food and fair pricing. I enjoyed the food and I have asked the owner to chose for me. Expect to be warmly welcomed by the owner in a rather unique way. the interior is basic, but pleasant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent Lunch Destination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very much enjoyed our experience here. Food was prompt, delicious and well presented. I had earlier read about the owner's enthusiasm but didn't tell my friends and they thought his antics were surprising and hilarious, but sincere. The restaurant's location is slightly off the track, but well worth the 10 minute walk from Wittenbergplatz. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure near KaDaWe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We found this little gem through the trip advisor app. It's about a 10 minute walk from Wittenbergplatz station.

The owner was so friendly and welcoming and the interior of the restaurant was very cosy. It felt like we were having dinner at a friend's house.

The quality of the food was very good and as everything is freshly prepared you can add or remove ingredients to the dish. The owner is quite happy to make recommendations.

We had a starter for two and two rice dishes, all of which were very generous portion sizes and full of flavour.

The whole meal with two beers cost about ?30 so excellent value for money. I would definitely recommend and if I go back to Berlin I wouldn't hesitate to eat there again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Deise
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Food Very Reasonable !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Food was top class and very cheap. Well worth the trip to find it.
Host is very friendly and welcoming.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SAIGON and more... also viewed

 

Been to SAIGON and more...? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SAIGON and more..., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.