We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plain German food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prater

Prater
Kastanienallee 7 | Prenzlauer Berg, 10435 Berlin, Germany
30-448 5688
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #356 of 5,949 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Plain German food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Plain german food no thrills. If you want to try german food this is the place. Beer garden is very nice then weather is nice.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    123
    25
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great beer, great sausages. What else do you want?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Went in a large party over the weekend, ended up in this place all three days. Plenty of space to sit chill out, soak up some rays or shelter from them. The crowd was a bit variable at different times. The families and stag parties seemed to be at odds with each other over the weekend, but there were certainly more locals than tourists on saturday and sunday, if not friday.

The bratwurst went down well, as did the potato salad. The beer was great too. They had no problem serving our large party. It was generally a pretty relaxed place during the day. We didn't stick around into the evening, but I remember it getting bussier from a previous trip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Now THAT'S some good schnitzel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Pick up any Berlin tour book and chances are Prater Gardens will be listed among the restaurants. Tonight, I learned it's for good reason. There's so much to like about this very easy-to-find spot a couple of blocks from the Eberswalder Strasse UBahn station. The atmosphere is a classic German beer hall. Be prepared for a happy, boisterous atmosphere. Everyone in this place is having a great time. The service was top-notch. I had a delightful server who, despite having to serve several tables, including a group of about 20, never ignored me. In fact, she took time to chat with me about where I was from and what I had done in Berlin. And, then there's the food. It was great, from the beer to the strudel to some of the best schnitzel I've ever had. If you're in Berlin, you're missing out of you don't visit Prater.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Prenzlauerberg spot to enjoy a traditional German meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We dined in March inside as a family of five and found the food, service and general atmosphere warm and convivial. You can find the menu online and in English. I would imagine that the outdoor beer garden is festive in the warmer months.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Brilliant authentic Berlin experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

What else can I say other than the service was great, the beer was great and the food we had (sausage and lentil soup, roast pork and beef mains) were spot on.

So much so we visited it twice over the weekend, once sat at the bar and once at a table.

The staff were excellent, efficient, friendly and pretty. :-)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prater also viewed

 

Been to Prater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.