We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pasternak

Pasternak
Knaackstr. 22-24, 10405 Berlin, Germany (Prenzlauer Berg)
030-4413399
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #177 of 6,279 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fusion, Russian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Prenzlauer Berg
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Called here one evening. We were lucky they could fit us in as we didn't book. They menu was very varied and some great set meals that me and my wife both had. Borscht was great according to my wife. I had dumplings in soup - fantastic! Each course was excellent. Not as cheap as some reviews I read but was still a great meal in beautiful surroundings so would definitely go back. My wife is vegetarian and did have a good choice. Would recommend but would recommend booking.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    115
    20
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
torino
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great brunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

A lot of choise for sweets and salty dishes. good quality and you can fill your plate lot of times. Really recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Russian in Berlin,with some Jewish influence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had a very pleasent dinner at the Pasternak. The Restaurant is very cosy, but also ideal for a small group of friends, who might want a nicer place than the average, still affordable for everyone. We tried different kinds of Menus, which we found very filling and satisfying. I would defenitely recommend the Menu n° 2, I forgot the name but it's in the list. They also have some Jewish specialities which I will try next time for sure!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
208 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Favourite meal in Berlin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stopped in here a couple times; once for drinks & once for dinner. Service was always prompt (not always common in Germany). The drinks were tasty & well-priced (beer & wine).
We came back for dinner after checking out the very interesting looking menu. We weren't disappointed with the Russian-Jewish cuisine. Our starters & entrees were satisfying & delicious. I ordered a small garden salad (had a great dressing on it) & the latkes for dinner. The marinated salmon that came with the latkes was the best I've ever had. Melt in your mouth tender & amazing flavour!
My husband had matzo ball soup (he thought it was just ok, but he should have ordered the borscht) and beef stroganoff for dinner. His stroganoff was incredibly tasty too.
The ambiance in the spring while sitting outside on the patio is beautiful. On a quiet side street across from a park (with water tower), so it's nice to sit with a drink & people watch, enjoying the fact you're in Berlin. We'd go back next time we're in Berlin.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Noisy, friendly, happyplace. Don't mention the food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Very russian, very noisy, with a pianist who bangs out the tunes, probably a great musician who vents his frustration at having to play at a restaurant. Nice staff, English-speaking to some extent. Very charming rooms. Fair prices. Good chilled vodka and no-one bats an eyelid if you order one litre for the table.
The borscht is good, so are the crepes. The rest of the food is - well, food.
Nice location, good for a small to medium party, good for outdoors.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pasternak also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Pasternak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pasternak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.