We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite meal in Berlin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pasternak

Pasternak
Knaackstr. 22-24, 10405 Berlin, Germany
030-4413399
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 5,660 restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: Russian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London, Canada
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Favourite meal in Berlin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stopped in here a couple times; once for drinks & once for dinner. Service was always prompt (not always common in Germany). The drinks were tasty & well-priced (beer & wine).
We came back for dinner after checking out the very interesting looking menu. We weren't disappointed with the Russian-Jewish cuisine. Our starters & entrees were satisfying & delicious. I ordered a small garden salad (had a great dressing on it) & the latkes for dinner. The marinated salmon that came with the latkes was the best I've ever had. Melt in your mouth tender & amazing flavour!
My husband had matzo ball soup (he thought it was just ok, but he should have ordered the borscht) and beef stroganoff for dinner. His stroganoff was incredibly tasty too.
The ambiance in the spring while sitting outside on the patio is beautiful. On a quiet side street across from a park (with water tower), so it's nice to sit with a drink & people watch, enjoying the fact you're in Berlin. We'd go back next time we're in Berlin.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    88
    79
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Noisy, friendly, happyplace. Don't mention the food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Very russian, very noisy, with a pianist who bangs out the tunes, probably a great musician who vents his frustration at having to play at a restaurant. Nice staff, English-speaking to some extent. Very charming rooms. Fair prices. Good chilled vodka and no-one bats an eyelid if you order one litre for the table.
The borscht is good, so are the crepes. The rest of the food is - well, food.
Nice location, good for a small to medium party, good for outdoors.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Russian surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Good Russian food served in an old house that adds to the experience. Menu offers both Russian and Jewish cooking, portions are filling and one can overeat. Waiters are pleasant and kid around if you engage them. Food met all our expectations and brought back many childhood memories. Went back a second night with a friend and she too enjoyed the experience. It was a good change from German food and we would recommend Pasternak to all. Make reservations.
All in all we felt like we had gone back to the 50's and the piano player added to that feeling. Last time we ate there it snowed and looking out the window at the snow falling, eating Russian food, being in an old home setting made for a very romantic night.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savona, Italy
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Russian Style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This restaurant have the well attitude to create an atmosphere of ''fin de secle'' where the guest is highly appreciated and regarded.
All typical russian disches are good and well presented.in this spectacular room furnished with confortables sofas and old chandeliers.
Interesting the suggested daily speciality offered on the menu by the cook that offers also ,a full list of traditional Russian dishes.
A satisfactory list of wines and beers supported by a good value for money.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

This was recommended by our guide book but also friends who have family in the area. The fixed menu is not only good value it also provides very helpful guidance for those non German speakers. The waiters were efficient and friendly and the whole experience was very positive. Will definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pasternak also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Pasternak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pasternak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.