We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pasternak

Pasternak
Knaackstr. 22-24, 10405 Berlin, Germany (Prenzlauer Berg)
030-4413399
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #176 of 6,278 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fusion, Russian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Prenzlauer Berg
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

This was recommended by our guide book but also friends who have family in the area. The fixed menu is not only good value it also provides very helpful guidance for those non German speakers. The waiters were efficient and friendly and the whole experience was very positive. Will definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    115
    20
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We hit the place by mistake, which turned out to be a great Sunday afternoon on a very cold January. We were late for the fixed menue brunch of Sunday. The stuff were very pleased to serve. The food was delicious. Nice size portions, and funny titles-"happy tzar", "collective", "Proletariat". Hearty dishes with a nice selection.
There was something to each of us. Fixed price menues are a very good deal, Highly recommend for a great experience!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Berlin in Russian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

One of my absolute favorite establishments in Prenzlauer Berg, former east Berlin. Pasternak sets the mood of a 19th-century home style dining room. The staff is alert and friendly, and the food uncompromisingly delicious.

The restaurant is named after the Nobel price winner Boris Pasternak the author of Dr. Zhivago and has been serving the Berlin crowd Russian and Jewish specialties since the opening in 1987.

Pasternak can proudly offer their home brewed beer. I prefer to start out with one since the rest of the dinner will be accompanied with ice cold premium vodka. Be sure to start out with the Russian caviar, it’s delicious, served on an ice bed with all necessary condiments, blinis, quail egg, onion etc. enough for three to share.

If you prefer a more modest approach they have several pre set menus for a very good value. Such dishes as “Intelligenz” – herring salad, quail eggs with salmon roe, followed by their amazing “Beef Stroganoff” makes you wish you had more space left for dessert. I strongly recommend their house vodka which is 35€ a bottle, served ice cold, perfectly rich and oily, made to marry the tastes of their cousine. As the vodka bottle empties the ambience sets with even more dimmed lights to the tunes of a live pianist. It’s just delightful. Be sure to book a table since it’s a busy place, especially on the weekends.

If you have the chance don’t miss the well known Sunday brunch, it’s worth it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing approach to tourists”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We went back a second time and will not eat there again. Yes prices are high depending on what you order but we enjoyed the service and the food. On the second occasion, the food and service was disappointing and worse, they short-changed us thinking they might pre-empt us on the tip. We've been here for a few weeks and know how it is done. Poor show!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant little find in berlin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We arrived quite late into Berlin and this little place was directly opposite where we were staying in the Water Tower. What a find and a pleasant surprise! Great menu, excellent service and really nice atmosphere. And very reasonably priced compared to what is on offer elsewhere. There are a lot of really great little places in this neighbourhood to choose from but this one is a must.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pasternak also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Pasternak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pasternak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.