We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but poor service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ottenthal Restaurant & Weinhandlung

Ottenthal Restaurant & Weinhandlung
Kantstr. 153, 10623 Berlin, Germany
030 3133162
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #164 of 5,646 restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Austrian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Richland, WA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great food but poor service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had a 7:30 pm reservation at Ottenthal Restaurant. We were seated inside and chose from the light “Summer Menu” which included three courses. Both of us started with a cold cucumber and melon soup with goat cheese. My wife liked it very well and I tolerated it.

For the main course I chose a fried breaded chicken with a huge salad of greens with a few gnoc-chi. The salad was filled with nuts, tomatoes, blue berries, strawberries, orange slices, and other fruit. My wife had the salmon with apricot chutney plus a large salad but her salad didn’t have all the fruit like mine. Mine was delicious! For dessert we both had a Peach Melba with raspberry sauce and an almond cookie. Very refreshing and good though the peaches were green and diffi-cult to cut with a spoon.

While the food was excellent the service was extremely slow. We were there two and a half hours, leaving slightly after 10 pm. The waitress just didn’t do things promptly though she was not busy. Even after being asked for wine or the bill she would stand around for 15-20 minutes before getting it. So it was not a case of under-staffing. The German family at the table next to us had the same problem and he finally got up and went looking for someone so he could pay the bill.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    88
    79
    14
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“slowest service ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

6 of us entered at 7.30pm. Only one had an appetizer but it was 11pm when we left! the service totally spoiled what was ordinary food. The schnitzel was tasteless big & very ordinary. the only good dish wash the char.
There is better & with less hype. I can only imagine that any review that thought this schnitzel was anything but ordinary has never had it anywhere else.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Solid small establishment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Based a recommendation from our concierge, we had dinner there last night. Nearly full when we arrived and not large, so a reservation is a must. We had a lovely table by the window, and warm friendly service. I had the venison medallions which were good, but not great. Wine list is quite good. Best- the apricot dumplings (takes 25 minutes) and the apple strudel. Nice experience!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Visited them on a Sunday evening, restaurant was empty when we came but filled up very quickly, so booking must be reccomended. Several guests was turned Down, when asking for a table. Had the schnitzel wiener-style, which was quite ordinary. Great wine list with many top names from Austria. Service was good but when the restaurant was full they got stressed. We ordered a sweet dessert wine, and we suspect that it was not what we had ordered, asked to see the bottle twice, but the never came around to show it, paid and left.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Local quiet dinner in berlin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We ask our conceirge for a German/Austrian restaurant and he recommended this place. The service was good, friendly and the food was very tasty. My wife took the weinerschnitzel and I took the Salmon. Both were excellent. Definitely would recommend this restaurant. Bon Apetite

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Ottenthal Restaurant & Weinhandlung also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Ottenthal Restaurant & Weinhandlung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ottenthal Restaurant & Weinhandlung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.