We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food with Family feel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marjellchen

Marjellchen
Mommsenstrasse 9, 10629 Berlin, Germany
030-8832676
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 5,672 restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $13 - $27
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
oklahoma city
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Good food with Family feel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The woman host/waitress that everyone talks about is the real deal. She is very friendly and she just knows the business. You barely even have to speak, and she just knows that you're looking for the bathroom.

I had the saddle of lamb. It was tasty especially with the sauce, which also goes good with the delicious potatoes. It is a bit on the pricey side, but for a tourist, it's a worthy splurge.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    592
    282
    65
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice, but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We have found many positive reviews on tripadvisor and decided to try our luck. The location is great, we were sitting outside (recommended). As for design, it is more traditional place, not fashionable at all, but quite charming. The service was not super friendly, everything took so long... And what about food? Well, if you live, as we are in Czech Republic, the German typical food is quite similar, so no big surprises. The quality of food was good, german beer - fantastic. Be carefull with the portion of duck - it is quite big, for a huge hunger. Overall - nice, but nothing special.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What an experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Authentic Ost Preussen cuisine with the owner and staff making the night a truly exceptional experience. This was the best meal we ate in Berlin and the stew of wild boar, venison and pork was fantastic. The drinks were reasonably price and the konigsberg goldwasser was a great way to finish off the meal. Fantastic host and a great evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This place is beautiful! we nearly missed out though as we didn't book but luckily when we arrived a booking had fallen through :) absolutely amazing german cuisine! A lot of meat dishes but I am a vegetarian and there were plenty of dishes for me to choose from. The lady speaks very good English so was easy to order. While we waited for our meals she gave us some history books of Germany which were an amazing read. When the food came out, wow! Dessert - heavenly! definitely recommend this place but you would be wise to book a table!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Meal I had in Berlin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We found this restaurant on trip advisor, what a find!! I had 3 nights & 4 days in Berlin & had never had "Prussian" food prior to Marjellchen, but am now an avid fan! Big flavors, hearty portions, charming decor, very friendly & helpful service. The potato dumplings w the roast duck were plain awesome, especially mixed w the spiced red cabbage, the lamb in caraway was so good, I made it when I got home. the pork knuckle & pike fish were all delicious! Definitely going back when I return to Berlin.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marjellchen also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 
Berlin, Germany

Been to Marjellchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marjellchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.