We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome and fantastic food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marjellchen

Marjellchen
Mommsenstrasse 9, 10629 Berlin, Germany
030-8832676
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #16 of 5,484 restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $13 - $27
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We got the last table available, given with enthusiasm rather than any snootiness we should have booked. They were so friendly (especially given our lamentable German) and so helpful. The food was amazing too. Rich and full of flavour and seemingly heavy, it was a lot lighter than it seemed. A smoked fish with creamed apple and onion was just delicious and surprisingly fresh tasting. A Masurian jugged game dish was rich, dense, sticky and went well with a potato dumpling and some pickled white cabbage. The wine was light and fresh and reasonably priced and we even ventured into the dessert menu. A shared apple dumpling was, again, lighter than we expected - and delicious. Great value, we left full but not bloated. The service was lovely and the room welcoming and comfortable. Go!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    531
    251
    60
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Thank you trip advisor for flagging this restaurant.Great food in a setting that is very homely.The host and staff could not have been more hospitable and I strongly recommend this establishment for a variety of reasons.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bordeaux
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great food and service ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

truly good food and up there in the top 2 restaurants we ate in in Berlin over 6 nights along with Ottenthal. Warm welcome, lovely warm atmosphere, delightful owner but most importantly a fabulous dinner .... True heart warming German cuisine with no frills! Both main courses were fabulous .... A must for anyone visiting Berlin. Reservations needed and prices are very reasonable! Would certainly recommend ....

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast N.Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is a true German restaurant just off Berlin's beautiful Ku'damm.The hosts are jolly and welcome you warmly in good English if you need it.The ambience and decor are like a cosy unpretentious inn.The food is Eastern German with dumplings ,tender meat and fish,liver, kidneys and sausages to choose from.The service is excellent and the food is well cooked.The beer is good but the wine list is a little limited.
We had a lovely evening and with G&Ts to start, a large beer,a bottle on wine, schnapps on the house .two generous main courses and an excellent soup to share the bill was only 80 euros. I would go again and again

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Atmosphere and tradition at this restaurant is just wonderful. A reflection of east Prussian hospitality. The food is rich but very nice.We will come again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marjellchen also viewed

Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Marjellchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marjellchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Marjellchen to your Saves list