We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome and fantastic food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marjellchen

Marjellchen
Mommsenstrasse 9, 10629 Berlin, Germany (Charlottenburg)
030-8832676
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 6,633 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $27
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Charlottenburg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We got the last table available, given with enthusiasm rather than any snootiness we should have booked. They were so friendly (especially given our lamentable German) and so helpful. The food was amazing too. Rich and full of flavour and seemingly heavy, it was a lot lighter than it seemed. A smoked fish with creamed apple and onion was just delicious and surprisingly fresh tasting. A Masurian jugged game dish was rich, dense, sticky and went well with a potato dumpling and some pickled white cabbage. The wine was light and fresh and reasonably priced and we even ventured into the dessert menu. A shared apple dumpling was, again, lighter than we expected - and delicious. Great value, we left full but not bloated. The service was lovely and the room welcoming and comfortable. Go!

Helpful?
4 Thank gredmond76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
dublin ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Thank you trip advisor for flagging this restaurant.Great food in a setting that is very homely.The host and staff could not have been more hospitable and I strongly recommend this establishment for a variety of reasons.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank buddy053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bordeaux
Level Contributor
111 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great food and service ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

truly good food and up there in the top 2 restaurants we ate in in Berlin over 6 nights along with Ottenthal. Warm welcome, lovely warm atmosphere, delightful owner but most importantly a fabulous dinner .... True heart warming German cuisine with no frills! Both main courses were fabulous .... A must for anyone visiting Berlin. Reservations needed and prices are very reasonable! Would certainly recommend ....

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank piggy1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast N.Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is a true German restaurant just off Berlin's beautiful Ku'damm.The hosts are jolly and welcome you warmly in good English if you need it.The ambience and decor are like a cosy unpretentious inn.The food is Eastern German with dumplings ,tender meat and fish,liver, kidneys and sausages to choose from.The service is excellent and the food is well cooked.The beer is good but the wine list is a little limited.
We had a lovely evening and with G&Ts to start, a large beer,a bottle on wine, schnapps on the house .two generous main courses and an excellent soup to share the bill was only 80 euros. I would go again and again

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Atmosphere and tradition at this restaurant is just wonderful. A reflection of east Prussian hospitality. The food is rich but very nice.We will come again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Hardy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marjellchen also viewed

Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Marjellchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing