We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian restaurant in Berlin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maharadscha

Maharadscha
Fuggerstreet 21, 10777 Berlin, Germany (Schoneberg)
+49 30 21002151
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 6,040 Restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $2 - $16
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Doing business, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Schoneberg
Description: In September 2014 Restaurant Maharadscha has completed 30 years. We want to say a large thank you to all our guests for their faith in us. Restaurant Maharadscha is twice in Berlin. If you want to experience authentic Indian food you are here at the right address. We serve chicken, lamb, duck, fish and other seafood dishes but we do have a variety for our vegetarian and vegan guests as well. Here you can forget your prejudices against Indian food since you decide whether you want your dish mild, good-seasoned, spicy or very spicy. One of the owners is always at your side to make your visit memorable. Even though we have a large number of dishes, every meal is been prepared freshly after your order is placed. Both restaurants are located very central. You can get to Maharadscha in Schoneberg easily in 5-10 minutes from the underground station Wittenbergplatz (Kudamm with KaDeWe). Maharadscha 2 is only 3 stations away from Alexanderplatz (central sightseeing place with TV tower). So tourists can easily travel to both restaurants. Please notice: We don't accept credit cards. Only German EC card or cash.
Prague
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best Indian restaurant in Berlin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I recently visited Berlin again for a weekend with my partner and we always look forward to visiting Maharadscha in the cool Schoneberg area of Berlin. We hadn't been there for 6 months but the Indian lady who owns the restaurant remembered us from other visits and was very friendly and attentive. The food was as previously extremely good and excellent value for money. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    487
    149
    41
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Curry!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Great food, great value, great owner. The owner was extremely friendly and more than happy to create any dish you wanted. The only Indian restaurant I will ever visit in Berlin.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A "Home"ly restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We visited this restaurant after following its reviews on TripAdvisor. And we were not disappointed. We were received with a pleasing and heart-warming smile of the hosts. The menu was truly authentic Indian and so was the food. we went for a complete 3-course meal. It was quite affordable too. (Need to mention that, prices were compared to that in Swiss).

The hosts were very friendly and treated us as a family. The food tasted even better as they served it with love. The food can be ordered based on individual spice range. Plan for a large group and the hosts can manage to even prepare a special dish of your choice (need to be intimated prior to arrival).

If I am in Berlin again, this is where I am going to have my tastebuds get tickled.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good hosts but average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The host of the restaurant is one of the most friendly restaurant owners I have met although we did not get our complete food order. The food was very average quality and taste although it was made fresh. Finding and reaching the place takes some walk. Go for the service but without high expectations.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enschede, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We just had dinner here, it was great food and a great ambiance. Good price as well, lovely people, a place to come back to.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maharadscha also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Maharadscha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maharadscha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.