We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Indian cuisine. Very good.”
Review of Maharadscha

Fugger Str. 21, 10777 Berlin, Germany (Schöneberg)
+49 30 2138826
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #31 of 5,478 restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Price range: $3 - $19
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Schöneberg
Description: One of the oldest indian restaurants in Berlin since 1984. You can get there easily in 5-10 minutes from the underground station Wittenbergplatz (Kudamm). We serve chicken, lamb, duck, fish and other seefood dishes but we do have a variety for vegetarian and vegan people. In this restaurant you can forget the prejudices against indian food since you decide whether you want your dish mild, good-seasoned, spicy or very spicy. One of the owners is always by your side to make your visit memorable.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    238
    90
    30
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Maharadscha
See the most recent reviews
New York City
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian cuisine. Very good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Enjoyed this restaurants with friends. We were looking for something different from the standard German fare and enjoyed eating here. I had the Chicken Madras and liked it.
The service was exceptional.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Москва, Россия
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good place for your evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Were there about five or six times while we were in Berlin. One of the best restaurants at least in this part of the city.

Food: big portions of delicious food. Always fresh and always healthy.

Service: Awesome family-style service.

Price: If you don't care about money - it's your choice. But this place you must visit at least once!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“5 star if you like athentic and spicy indian food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Ive been here twice and tested about 8 dishes from chicken to lamb and
beef and it was ALL good.

The appetizers are great specially the oinion bhaji wich is fried "rösti style" cakes made with
onion and spices and comes with three dipping sauces.

The chicken or lamb tandoori is very spicy as it should be but very tasty and they have very
high quality meats in all the dishes.

The family who owns the restaurant is pleasent and the lady who served us both times with a great english accent was doing everything with a smile and kept the service level high both times. One of the best indian if not THE best i have ever been to.

Prices are very reasonable with entrées around 8-12 €

And dont forget the naan.......... ; )

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian food, did not dissappoint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We picked this place solely on the praising recommendations here on TA. It is located a bit off the beaten path but it is very well worth the trouble to visit.

The décor is quite plain, but the place is still clean. A softer, dimmer lighting would really hit the spot here. The staff was very friendly and welcoming.

It took a fairly long while for our food to arrive (if I remember correctly this was stated on the menu too) but when it arrived, wow. My tandoori chicken was incredibly delicious, without a doubt one of the best ones I ever had. My wife seemed to be happy with her dish as well. The prices were also very reasonable. This place is actually worth the praise it gets here, if you are looking for a Indian restaurant in Berlin, this is probably one of the best options.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grugliasco
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“a safe haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We went to this Indian restaurant intrigued by TA reviews, as we love trying indian cuisine when we are abroad.
The interior is quite simple, as many others indian restaurants in the world, but clean.
the quality of the food is simply excellent and the quantity..suitable to fill the most hungry.
we had a wonderful dinner in total serenity, in a relaxing atmosphere.
We appreciated in particular the welcoming and friendly hostess, very polite and kind in every occasion.
In the end, prices are reasonables and we would return without doubt!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maharadscha also viewed

Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Maharadscha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maharadscha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.