We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maharadscha

Maharadscha
Fuggerstreet 21, 10777 Berlin, Germany (Schoneberg)
+49 30 21002151
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 6,040 Restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $2 - $16
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Schoneberg
Description: In September 2014 Restaurant Maharadscha has completed 30 years. We want to say a large thank you to all our guests for their faith in us. Restaurant Maharadscha is twice in Berlin. If you want to experience authentic Indian food you are here at the right address. We serve chicken, lamb, duck, fish and other seafood dishes but we do have a variety for our vegetarian and vegan guests as well. Here you can forget your prejudices against Indian food since you decide whether you want your dish mild, good-seasoned, spicy or very spicy. One of the owners is always at your side to make your visit memorable. Even though we have a large number of dishes, every meal is been prepared freshly after your order is placed. Both restaurants are located very central. You can get to Maharadscha in Schoneberg easily in 5-10 minutes from the underground station Wittenbergplatz (Kudamm with KaDeWe). Maharadscha 2 is only 3 stations away from Alexanderplatz (central sightseeing place with TV tower). So tourists can easily travel to both restaurants. Please notice: We don't accept credit cards. Only German EC card or cash.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

We found this restaurant by looking on trip adviser and we were very happy with our choice. Nice restaurant close to our hotel in quiet area. Nice decor and the choice of food was good. All three of us enjoyed our meals and its excellent value for money. Hostess and family were friendly. Not much more to say other than give this place a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    487
    149
    41
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lubbecke, Germany
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Warm Atmosphere & Spicy Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had high hopes for this Indian Restaurant and we were not disappointed. From the moment we entered the establishment we were given a pleasant greeting by the owner. Having been offered our choice of seating, menus arrived as did real Indian lager! For us the whole experience was excellent. A good well prepared starter, followed by a spicy curry, nan bread and that great sensation of being replete and satisfied. We have eaten many curries in Germany and have often been disappointed by a lack of spice and the evidence of real Indian cooking. Here you get the genuine article and all served with a smile and good humour. A great night out and we will be back next time we visit this great city.

Top Tip: if you like your curry hot then ask for Indian spicy and not European spicy.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mannheim
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Warm and welcoming .value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Food was good... The host was too good and welcoming .. Service was Good.. VEG Soup was too Good .. Will go there again when i Visit berlin

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“good indian food in Schoneberg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Liked the food. Not very spicy, quite near to authentic indian food.
The owner / hostess is polite and very friendly. Can get a little too friendly but maybe cos we were a bunch of Indians so she wanted to connect back to her city, her country.
Worth a visit for the food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good food, honest friendly staff and a great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

So being in Berlin on business we were keen to get away from a combination of hotel food and sausage-based cuisine, so decided to try Maharadscha.

The owner (a family woman herself) greeted us on arrival and looked after us throughout. She made us feel very welcome, and we had very enjoyable conversation about herself, the restaurant and her heritage over the course of the evening.

The food itself was excellent, with good quality dishes, decent portions and excellent prices.

I would definitely recommend this restaurant, well worth a visit.

Quick note - the owner told us she is currently having issues with her internet provider, so is unable to receive reservations by email! Would advise phoning in advice if on a weekend, and should be able to just walk in during the week.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maharadscha also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Maharadscha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maharadscha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.