We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Keyser Soze

Keyser Soze
Tucholskystrasse 33, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
30-2859 9489
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,532 of 6,046 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mitte
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Food and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Lunch here was very good. Great atmosphere and decor. An excellent range of Tagesgerichte which are well priced. Lovely neighbourhood - grab a beer and watch the world go by!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    41
    20
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lively place, good food & atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Even though the service quality (speed and occasional friendliness) could be improved, we overall had a nice time. Food and cocktails were very good. The Wiener Schnitzel was perfectly thin, cooked crunchy and tasty, served with a rather sweet potato salad. Furthermore we ordered the Zürcher Geschnetzeltes (a quick fry of veal, served with a creamy mushroom sauce), also very tasty and nicely garnished (with a well seasoned and actually edible side salad). A good portion of Kaiserschmarrn (a southern German / Austrian dessert specialty, a rather thick pancake broken up into pieces, and served with raisins and a plum compote), very tasty and well presented.

The place was pretty packed, so we had to wait a few minutes before holding on to a table (without help or guidance from the waiters).

Dominated by a young customer base, and a rather easy-going atmosphere, from both customers and staff.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina MN
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Another very nice neighborhood restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

A trendy, yet warm and comfortable, restaurant. Had some really cheesy dishes and a bottle of wine on a wet and windy night. Sat a tall bar table and felt very much part of the scene. Some tourists, but a lot of locals. Of course, all of the staff spoke English and a lot of the locals were speaking English to each other as well.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good but not great...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Ok, this is the second time I've been to Keyser Soze (got to love the name btw!) and my impression has not changed since my first visit. I agree with the other reviewers on here, the service is not good at all. The food is average compared to the price... I don't believe that it is 'good' value really... it looks fancy but its very bog standard.
My friend had 2 slices of french toast with apple sauce for 3,90 which was good - one friend had the Wirtshaus Teller for 7,90 and it was really small compared to something of the same price we had elsewhere the day before :( and me and my boyfriend has the Club sandwich for 6,90 which was very good value and impressive looking, in my option at 6,90 (see photo). The Chai latte was horrible at 3,50 and the coffees were small for the price 2-3 euros...

On the plus side, the waitress was nice, the place has a nice atmosphere and the cakes looked delicious! I would go back, but I know you can find better for that price. Maybe the area makes a difference (go to freidrichshein instead!).

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Slow service but good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I had breakfast here a couple of times as it was over the road from my hotel. The service could be pretty slow and on one occasion my order was evidently forgotten as after waiting about 25 minutes I had to go in and remind them about it.

But the food is actually pretty good and the prices were very reasonable (in fact the food is a bit cheaper than what I'm used to where I live in London).

If they could improve their service, it'd be a really great spot.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keyser Soze also viewed

Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Keyser Soze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keyser Soze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.