We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Real Deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah

Kasbah
2 Gipsstrasse, Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
030 2759 4361
Improve this listing
Ranked #316 of 5,944 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Mitte
Napa, California, United States
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“The Real Deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We walked in the felt like we were in Moraco. The Clay Pot entrees are wonderful. On a nice night there as tables in the garden. For a change of pace, this is a charming place.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    37
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Friendly but oversalted”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Charming restaurant on a charming street. The service was attentive. The rosewater hand wash was nice but when it came to the main events - tagine and cous cous - the restaurant was totally disappointing. The dishes were borderline inedible due to the salt levels. Our thirst grew with each bite. Unfortunately the beer we had from the tap was too warm to be refreshing. I would not come back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A taste of Morocco in Berlin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Having been to Morocco recently we were excited to hear about Kasbah in Berlin and couldn't wait to try it out on our visit there. We weren't disappointed, the food, decor and service were all authentic and lovely. From having our hands washed with rose water to ceremonially poured mint tea at the end of the meal, we felt like we had been transported to Fes and enjoyed every minute of it. As a vegetarian I was concerned about my dining options in wurst-happy Germany, so it was a relief to find this veggie-friendly restaurant. Definitely recommend it if you're looking for something different in Berlin.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Excellent choice! Great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We were greeted immediately and elected to sit inside vs the patio. The service was amazing, very friendly and their english was perfect. The food was excellent. Looked like a few large groups were there, although the restaurant is designed to not let that hinder the smaller group tables. On their website, however, you can make reservations. If you have a bigger group or are going during peak times, I would make one.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Yum - excellent respite from the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

During our summer trip to Berlin, my husband and I went to Kasbah not once - but twice! Upon entering, the host showed us to a lovely outdoor table in the garden. Then he returned to wash our hands with a hammered copper pot of rose water. The savory soup and fresh salad starters were a delightful way to begin the meal. When the tagines arrived - my husband thought that the tender lamb, stewed with sweet honey and dates was one of the best lamb dishes he's ever had. I was not disappointed by the fork-tender stewed vegetables and seasoned chicken over couscous. The meal was served with crusty bread - the perfect respite and nourishment after a long day of city sightseeing.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kasbah also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Kasbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasbah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.