We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only one main course at the Chicken restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Henne

Henne
Leuschnerdamm 25, 10999 Berlin, Germany (Kreuzberg)
030-6147730
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #143 of 5,649 restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: German, Chicken Wings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Kreuzberg
Soenderborg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Only one main course at the Chicken restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Sitting on narrow benches in a small front garden of this Kreuzberg restaurant, under the leafy trees and eating roast chicken with your fingers, perhaps a fork but no knife - it is much nicer, than could be imagined. As a side order, choose between cabbage and potatosalad. It all create a feeling of fellowship among guests - eating the same menu and licking fingers in between bites. A very in-expensive dinner, well worth the trouble to find (bus M29).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    101
    62
    19
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
berlin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“I don't get it with the chicken. Charming setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I was invited by friends to the "best chicken in Berlin". What I received after a looong wait was a piece of dry chicken with no particular thing to it, other then it was...dry. As a side dish, I was served cabbage salad from the discounter which comes in a bucket. I have no clue what the hype/fascination is about. The restaurant itself is an old-style Berlin Kneipe and is really charming. It is located right in front of where the wall used to stand and for this alone, it is a great location. You can sit outside in a charming garden right by the quiet street. I would go there for a beer and for a normal chicken (it is by no means terrible). Don't expect anything from the chicken or food and it will be okay.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

If you are going because you like fried chicken - don't go. If you are going because you have read fantastic reviews - don't go. If you enjoy the alternative for alternative's sake then go. The chicken is chicken, no more to say about that. I accompanied mine with potato salad, which was cheap supermarket stuff being sold to the customer for a stupid price. You will be better of at KFC. We went in the early evening and walking through the streets was unpleasant, not because of its ethnic community, but because of the groups of drunk and wasted men on a few of the street corners, it was depressing. Henne in my opinion is vastly overrated and really not worth the effort. I have read the less favourable reviews, interestingly written mostly by Germans, they are accurate and honest.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Outstanding! What a real treat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This restaurant is a reasonable way out of 'town', being about 2 miles away from Checkpoint Charlie. It is well, well worth the trip.

I visited with my wife and two children, 9 & 5, and we did not have a reservation but it was only a Thursday night. We just about got a table and there was no spaces after us!

The menu is as simple as can be, half chicken or two types of sausage. The sides are equally limited, a potato salad or Sauerkraut. The wine list is good, the beer list is good and the service is fantastic!

The whole feel of the place is authentic and the food absolutely delivers.

It is excellent value for money and one of those places that you are genuinely glad you visited.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A reminder of home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Fried chicken--hard to find in Berlin, but Henne comes pretty darn close to the stuff back home. A half chicken, served with a side of mayo-based potato salad, works very well here. Beer selection isn't great, but the chicken makes up for it. Reservations a must. V good beer garden in nice weather.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henne also viewed

 

Been to Henne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.