We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would walk back to Berlin for this chicken” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Henne

Henne
Leuschnerdamm 25, 10999 Berlin, Germany (Kreuzberg)
030-6147730
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #360 of 6,236 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: German, Chicken Wings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Kreuzberg
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I would walk back to Berlin for this chicken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Can't fault what the others have said, this is chicken you have to try! And great value. Not the friendliest service I have ever had but they were mega busy and still managed to find a space for us without a reservation with only a few minutes wait at the bar.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    80
    24
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brixham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The Best Roast Chicken You Will Get!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I was introduced to this restaurant when I first visited Berlin around 7 years ago.

Since then I have visited Die Henne every time I return!

The menu is extremely simple, but the food is delicious! Beautiful roasted chicken with the most amazing skin, lovely artisan bread, coleslaw and potato salad.

The feel of the place is very personal and family run, which I love.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Chick this out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Beautifully roasted chicken for 7.50 euro. We arrived a little late- just before 12pm on a Friday night, but were still served. We chose the chicken from the two options as we'd ODD on wurst throughout our Berlin trip. Can't recommend enough- great food, good service and unusual decor. Go! The wine menu, whilst a little pricey, was delicious.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Chicken to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

You had better book well in advance for this one as you will not be able to walk in off the street. They only serve half-chicken on a plate with bread (and great potato salad or pickled cabbage salad as extras if you want - and I suggest you do as they are very good) but this is what you go there for. The chicken is a delight; crispy salty skin and hot moist meat and plenty of it, because this is not a small bird. Great value for money too. We went on a Sunday night and the place was heaving, but that added to the atmosphere, which had a very German feel to it. It was not that easy to find and is not the kind of place you would naturally go walking around to look for a restaurant. But if you persevere you will be rewarded with one of the most original eating out experiences you will ever have.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“what a chicken?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

What a chicken!!!! Roasted half-chicken for 6,50 euros milk marinated, with a portion of potato or cabbage salad. You do not nothing else

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henne also viewed

 

Been to Henne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.