We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant - the very breast of Berlin!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Henne

Henne
Leuschnerdamm 25, 10999 Berlin, Germany (Kreuzberg)
030-6147730
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #343 of 6,046 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: German, Chicken Wings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Kreuzberg
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Brilliant - the very breast of Berlin!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This pub-restaurant does one thing only and does it really well - fried chicken. It is the best I have ever tasted. The pub itself is apparently over 100 years old and has a great selection of beer as well as schnapps. Staff and customers are very friendly - even if you find it a little bit overpoweringly 'ethnic' when you first walk in. Brilliant place - if you are in Berlin you have to try it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    80
    25
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Fried Chicken of my Life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

There is only one thing on the menu here, which you know is delicious. We sat outside in the charming backyard patio, and ordered two side salads and some beer. The potato salad and coleslaw were the best I've ever had, and I grew up in a European household. The chicken - wow... wow... wow. Crispy skin and a hearty portion. One of our favourite meals in Europe. A must.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Strange but satisfying...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This German pub (sort of) is brilliant! Staff are friendly and the food is brilliant. I recommend the chicken...
The atmosphere is great, tightly packed but cozy and you definitely won't be disappointed or angry over the bill.

I'm definitely going back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Chicken! :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I ate in this restaurant in May 2005, during a last minute trip to Berlin.2 German friends red some reviews on a magazine and were very curious about it. The took the chance of our visit to go there and see with their own eyes. I remember it looked a very tipical German place, all furbished in dark wood, with white and red chequered tablecloths. Then I remember the faboulous chicken! I can't even tell if it was fried or roasted but I know it was delicious! I think it came with smashed potatoes.Of course we had big glasses of beer!!Unfortunately I don't remember how much it costed but I'm sure it was very affordable! I hope to go back to Berlin soon and I will surely go back to Henne!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Berlin without makeup - die Henne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

If you are looking for Berlins soul here you get a taste of it... It's an old tavern/pub where neighbors meet and have their beer and a deep fried chicken with it. It's very down to earth, relaxed and friendly in its Berlin way.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henne also viewed

 

Been to Henne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.