We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not eat fish!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ganymed

Ganymed
Schiffbauerdamm 5, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
030-28599046
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,697 of 5,644 restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $12 - $39
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Mitte
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Do not eat fish!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Nice location and good service. The food however, was less than average. They do not know how to cook fish. The whole fish was served on a plate, no fillets and it was full of bones. This brasserie should rather stick to meat. The chef was totally indifferent when we addressed this. Berlin is luckily full of other nice places for goog food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    28
    60
    23
    14
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cosy high end restaurant with fantastic French cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Brasserie style interior creates a warm and cosy atmosphere. Personnel well trained, polite and accomodating. Had oysters and chateaux briant. Both to die for. Wine selection is exquisit but you are a bit on your own since they did not have a somelier. However, I did not spot a single wine on the list I would have not liked to order. Expect to pay 80-100 Euros/person which is a bargain for what you will experience. Overall, highly recommendable.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

As a French person I was so happy to eat in a French Restaurant in Berlin. The atmosphere is really Paris-like, with old beautiful brasserie with well-dressed waiters. But that's the only good thing about it ! The food has such a small portions, the waiters are cold, they can't even speak French and don't really know what we got in the plates. And it's really expensive ! The wines were really good though.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Delicious seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Visited with my wife on a Saturday in October, we sat outside by the Spree river.
Service was a little slow in the beginning, but good better after some time.
The fish dishes we had was well prepared and delicious and the Crème brûlée we had for desert was perfect.
We hope to visit again next time we go to Berlin.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hokksund, Norway
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Very slow service, average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

It was very busy in the restaurants close to the Spree river. We tried several restaurants, but all tables were taken or reserved. We should maybe have taken it as a warning when we finally entered Ganymed Brasserie. It was no problem to get a table for 10.

The waitresss came and we ordered the drinks. After quite some time the drinks were coming and we ordered the main cources. We had to order more drinks and they finally came, and after having asked for the main cources a couple of thimes they finally emerged.

The food was no more than average. Nobody was very satisfied.

When asking for the bills, we experienced the same thing. Waiting, waiting and waiting.

The next time I am in the same area I will reserve a table in one of the many other restaurants.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ganymed also viewed

Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Ganymed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ganymed, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.